We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal.”

Grange Kitchen and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Grange Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: The main bus terminal is located 2 blocks from our restaurant. Cab service also available
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been to the grange twice and in both circumstances I was expecting to be disappointed because of Ann Arbor's overall food quality. In both cases, Grange was good. The food was interesting, locally sourced and the atmosphere was nice. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mightymoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I love Grange!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this restaurant. I think it's really unique. Their food sounds kind of normal at first, but it's made with so much care and delicious ingredients that it makes ordinary meals extraordinary. I have been there several times and the only time that I was a little disappointed was my first trip during Ann Arbor's restaurant week, which is pretty disappointing everywhere. Their brunch is delicious. Their bar food is wonderful - try the scotch egg. My favorite part is when they have special dinners. My fiance and I went to their Beer/Harvest dinner and I was floored with how good and plentiful everything was. They kept coming back and refilling my glass with beer. They brought out seconds on the appetizers. The advertised 5 courses turned out to actually be 6, plus they seat you "family style" and we met a lot of really fun people around us. I highly recommend attending one of their dinners like that... it's the best value and atmosphere.

Also, last time we went was with a groupon, and we hadn't read the fine print (my bad) and it wasn't valid that night, but they honored it anyway, which speaks to their customer service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klsyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Long drive, long wait and disappointed”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Thank goodness this visit was a Groupon deal. The wait was about an hour which I anticipate as many were using their coupons. I ordered Lemon Buttermilk Pancakes which sound great BUT...they arrived to the table extra thick and uncooked in the middle. I sent them back and orders something else as the flavor was a big disappointment. 2nd round, goat cheese omelette with Yukon potatoes ans sage sausag and toast. No jam/jelly...the potatoes were undercooked and the omelette was ok. The best thing about this visit was the fact that I got a chance to catch up on my reading as I waited and the cocktail. Would not go back...even for free!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“locavore”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Much of the food is locally sourced. Since this is Michigan, there's more variety in the summer than in the winter, where the menu is heavy on cured meats and root vegetables. The food was spectacular when the restaurant opened. It's slipped a little since then, but most of the food is still very good, and some of it is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Sunday morning!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having brunch at the Grange. For our 23rd anniversary. Sipping a Bourbon with Bubbles (and house-made peach bitters) while waiting for our Poutine with duck confit and Roast Pork Hash. Relaxing with our drinks and then WOW! the food comes. Two days later and my taste buds are still smiling. Quiet, but personable service by Kyle only added to Chef Brandon John's great food and the total experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateZufall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grange Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Grange Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing