We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falafel like back home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haifa Falafel

Haifa Falafel
Ranked #257 of 588 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
2 reviews
“Falafel like back home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great value for the portion, delicious falafel .. I will go back again , it will be my destination for lunch breaks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Falafel I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My cousin Zac brought me here right after they opened because he knew the owner, and he knows I love falafel's. Now I cannot go to A2's Washtenaw area without stopping here! BEST FALAFEL I HAVE EVER HAD!! Not only is the sandwich huge but so good. They put a lot of veggies in the sandwich, I can ever finish it. I have never had such crispy falafel ball in my life so full of favor perfectly toasted pita with tons of veggies and the sauce they use is to die for. The staff is really friendly, and the place is always super clean. I live in Dearborn and still haven't had a falafel so good in my life!! I will contuine to go there everytime I am on that side of Ann Arbor. They know how to do it right at Haifa Falafel!! Keep up the good work, and I'll keep coming back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our go-to place for Middle Eastern Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I eat at Haifa on average once a week. The Detroit area is known for Middle Eastern cuisine, but Haifa Falafel makes it easy and tasty by just calling up, ordering your Shwarma sandwich, and picking it up 10 minutes later! The price has gone up slightly from when they first opened, but it's still a very good deal (especially the MEGA which weighs over 2 lbs! Feeds my wife and I for a few days). Their fattoush salad and falafel are also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom Township, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wonderful falafel and best fattoush ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food is fresh and attractive. Unusual falafel -- small golden balls of delicious. Fattoush had very nice, fresh romaine with lovely toasted pita on top and generous sprinkling of sumac. Vinegar may be a little assertive for some, but I loved it.

Decor is diner style -- comfortable enough. Service is quick and very friendly (walk up to place your order, they'll call your name when ready). Appears to be a family business, and a very attractive family it is too. Photos of the Haifa harbor, many including nice pics of the Bahia temple, on the walls.

I've been to a *lot* of Arab restaurants, starting with The Camel in Dearborn in the 70s, through the Christian Lebanese refugee era in the 80s and down to now. Haifa Falafel, located just east of US23, between Ann Arbor and Ypsi, has *hands down* the best falafel, fatoosh and mjdarah I have had in a restaurant.

Lots of carryout and lunch business when I was there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charleys_human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Biggest mega sandwiches anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Their felafel is truly special. Small and crunchy on the outside, melt in your mouth creamy inside. Best I've ever had outside Israel. A large appetizer order is for a meal for me.

But if you're looking for a sandwich! Check out the megadelux felafal. The felafel, French fries, fixings' (and there plenty of them) and saice are all wrapped in a pita then cut in half to serve. Otherwise they're way too big to pick up. Even for my 6'4" spouse!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haifa Falafel also viewed

 

Been to Haifa Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing