We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, lovely little downtown hotel”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
North Royalton, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, lovely little downtown hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, and found it to be lovely and quiet. You can tell the building is old and "historic," but it is nicely decorated. The staff was excellent. A previous reviewer had complained about the continental breakfast, but I thought it was FANTASTIC. The best continental breakfast I've had.... eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, juices, pastries including *real* donuts, even fresh cut/peeled oranges and grapefruit!

Other reviewers had complained about the elevator, and yes, there is only one, and it is old, but since we were only on the 2nd floor we always took the stairs which wasn't a problem. (and you better believe we, like everyone else, need our exercise!)

My only complaint isn't really a fault of the hotel, just given the location there was a bit of outside "city noise" in the middle of the night which woke me up, and I *really* regretted not bringing my "white noise" maker. There didn't seem to be an option to keep the fan/a/c permanently "on," (the thermostat said it was on, but it turned off when the a/c went off,) so I guess that would be nice if that had actually worked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and the nice compliments about the continental breakfast. I believe it is close enough to a full breakfast that some guests forget that we describe it as a complimentary continental breakfast.

As for the noise, we are looking into replacing the windows on that side of the hotel with sound proof windows. I feel if you can block out airplanes flying over hotels that are close to the airport, we should be able to eliminate noise from the trash trucks.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your repeat visits to the Bell Tower.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    251
    81
    36
    10
See reviews for
268
127
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Incredibly courteous and helpful staff that exceeded every expectation. The rooms were immaculate and quiet. We enjoyed a great continental breakfast. The location is perfect for walking around town and central campus. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit to Ann Arbor and the Bell Tower.

Best,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here as part of a bridal party for a wedding this past weekend. I thought that the hotel service was excellent (attentive front desk and valet). My friend, the bride, was treated very well. We had the bridal suite from Thu-Sat for hanging out and getting ready. The downside is that the hotel is pricey so it would not be my choice for an every day type of stay, but perhaps more for a special occassion. The location is great though, right in the heart of Umich's campus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_S470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It was great to have such a nice wedding party and I have to say it was a very unique way to send the party off to the wedding! I understand we are priced a little higher than some hotels in Ann Arbor but I hope you found our guest service and location to compensate for it!

Thank you again for your business and I hope to see you again during your next visit to Ann Arbor.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Bell Tower Hotel is located in the centre of the town. Excellent service! Free wifi is provided and is accessible in the lobby, in the room or even in the corridor. Its complementary breakfast is delicious with cereal, bacon, scramble eggs, sausages, yogurt, fruits, donut, etc. Room TV got ESPN, TNT so live NBA games are broadcasted to make sure you are entertained every night!

Valet parking is also provided, suitable for travelers who rent cars.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent business! I am glad you appreciate the television selection since we recently upgraded to all HD television stations. We also recently added the hot items to our breakfast selections so I am glad to hear you like that too.

Thank you again and I look forward to your next visit to the Bell Tower!

Best Regards,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Bell Tower is centrally located to the university and best of all includes Valet parking. The rooms are quaint and clean. We had a corner suite while visinting our son at the unversity. Also they provide a great breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Corner suite was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSFBigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a quick review. I appreciate your stay and look forward to your return visits with us!

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about the Bell Tower Hotel. Reception and service is the best I have seen in all my travels. If you plan on staying in Ann Arbor, for business or pleasure, nothing beats it -- including the Campus Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBlakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and great review. We look forward to your return trip to Ann Arbor and another stay at the Bell Tower!

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Bell Tower is one of my favorite hotels. I always stay here if I can when visiting Ann Arbor. There is no better location if you're at the University of Michigan. The service is excellent, and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. There is valet parking, which is always a plus in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to enjoy what Ann Arbor has to offer without worrying about driving and parking anywhere. We look forward to having you back during your next visit.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#18 of 34 in Ann Arbor
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.7 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Property: Bell Tower Hotel
Address: 300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing