We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty service and pretentious staff left us disappointed”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

After the wonderful experience I had with this hotel's reservation agent on the phone and from the bellman upon check-in, I did not expect such mediocre service afterward. The reservation agent was very helpful with arranging a solution for our bridal party group of six on the eve of my sister's wedding, and for four of us remaining the night of the wedding. We were e-mailed a quote for a three room connecting suite; which I unfortunately had to defend upon checkout to a clerk with an attitude in a lobby full of people after she accused my husband and I of misrepresenting ourselves as a group of two for the price of six. Frankly, I found this mistake offensive and a bit surprising, after we were provided additional keys for three rooms and valet parking for several vehicles at check-in. Furthermore, we did not receive any housekeeping or turn-down service for two of the rooms during our stay, even though we put the "service-request" door hangers out, as we were asked to do by the housekeeper in the hallway as we were headed out the door to the wedding. When we returned, the door hangers had mysteriously been turned over to the "do not disturb" side but no one had cleaned the rooms. Management may need to pay closer attention to some employees at this hotel in order to maintain four-star standards of service across the board. Kudos and thanks to the bellman and reservations agent...send the others for retraining!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleOnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with our reservation and valet staff throughout your stay. I am sorry you felt you had to defend your room charge with additional occupants. It is our policy to have the desk staff observe the number of guests that occupy a room throughout a guests stay and change the occupants accordingly.

I will also speak to our Director of Housekeeping about the room having a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I assure you our housekeeping staff will not turn any signs around so they do not have to clean rooms. If this was our error, we will address the situation and assure you it will not happen in the future. Our staff is highly trained and extremely proud to offer the cleanest rooms in Ann Arbor. More than likely, the sign was mistakenly placed on the door backwards.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We visited the business school at u mich and stayed here because the location was recommended. The location is truly great, close to the town and school. Very easily walkable. Really disappointing rooms for the price. Not very up to date, overall average.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Given a price of $185/night (something like $209 with tax), and given that it is right next to a wealthy university, I was surprised that nothing seemed to have been updated for twenty years or more. I'm sure the hotel was opulent by 1985 standards, but there seemed to have been no renovations since then. Very few amenities, no movie options, no breakfast service---just some food put out for a la carte service in the morning. The level of the hotel seemed to warrant, maybe, a $120 price point, nothing more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcchh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review but I am quite surprised by the comments and observations by this review. We just finished renovating the bathrooms (granite and tile throughout) to half the hotel. The second half will start later this year. We also added flat screen televisions and cabinets to every guest room. We have an upscale European decor so I understand it is not for everyone. Some guests prefer a modern furnished decor.
Our complimentary continental breakfast includes yogurt, cottage cheese, fresh bagels, donuts, waffles, English muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, blueberry, banana nut and bran muffins, fresh squeezed orange juice, V8 tropical blend splash, coffee and a selection of tea. I feel this selection is a good representation of a good complimentary continental breakfast.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Very comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast area. A bit pricey. Came to visit U of M and found it very convenient and within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryManilow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate your business and are glad you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast and friendly staff.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

You don't have much choice in where to stay in Ann Arbor if you want to be in walking distance to campus and the center of town.

I found the Bell Tower to be just fine, and the service was extremely friendly and helpful. Some reviewers complained that the breakfast wasn't adequate but as someone who traveles extensively for work, I found the complimentary breakfast to be on par with any other hotel.

I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay at the Bell Tower Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Bell Tower hotel is a fabulous boutique hotel. The service is top notch, the rooms clean and comfortable and the location is second to none. The room rate comes with free valet parking and a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonniekern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and service! We pride ourselves in offering the best guest service in Ann Arbor.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife and I very much enjoyed this hotel for a weekend get away... We found it to be comfortably elegant and quiet. The staff was very attentive and polite. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. The bed slept delicously. We parked our car for the weekend as we were able to walk to the theatre, the market, and Starbucks. It's a little pricey, but was worth it to us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamBateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#16 of 35 in Ann Arbor
196 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.8 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
608 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: 300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $161 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing