We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not Great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vinology

Vinology
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinology is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street between Washington and Huron
Transit: Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.
Description: Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years our family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through our love of experimentation and education. From our experience we created a place for you to enrich your life with a menu and atmosphere that fits every style, taste, and budget. With over 100 wines served by the bottle and 50 by the glass from around the world, we're sure you'll find more than a few gems to adore. Enjoy our wine flights, focused food and wine pairings, Specialty Drink menu, classes, relaxed conversation and more. At Vinology, kick back, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings. Let us bring the charm of wine and much more into your life. The Jonna Family Eat. Drink. Shop
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, but not Great.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife, daughter and I celebrated our Sweetest day here and enjoyed ourselves but the food and wine was overpriced for the quality received. The three of us shared the Sauteed Calamari for appetizer and while it was ok, the calamari lacked seasoning and the melon amoygue was an odd accompaniment. The calamari was also warm, but not hot. We did like that Vinology has a small and large plate prices for all entrees listed and therefore, we shared five small plates between us for variety. Of the five we shared, the Roasted Venison Loin and Tandoori Boston Scrod were the best, but not excellent. As for the wine, which we were looking forward to and expected excellent selections since the restaurant is called "Vinology", we were disappointed. I, being a dry red person, had the Big Red flight and neither of the wines even came close to a nice bottle of an averaged price "J. Lohr" at any lower priced restaurant. My wife had the Fruit Bomb flight which was less than average also. We ended the evening with a Lava Cake to share. While the Lava Cake was very good, it was warm and not hot. Our bill with tip was roughly $200. If you expect quality wines, I would suggest to go elsewhere for your money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TingTing98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManager13, Owner at Vinology, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We'd like to thank you for your feedback about your experience at Vinology on TripAdvisor. We want every visit to be a five star experience, but we've come up short on yours experience and we apologize. We assure you that your feedback has been forwarded onto our staff and they are addressing each of those individually. At Vinology, we are always trying new exciting dishes and wines that we feel our customers will love. We encourage feedback like this so we can increase the experience for future customers and we hope you. We've been the destination for wine drinkers and food lovers throughout the years and we hope that we can get another chance to make it right. Again, we appreciate the feedback.

Kristin Jonna
info@vinologya2.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the New Menu”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came back to VInology to try the new menu which was brand new last Saturday evening. What a delight!

For an appetizer we tried the scallop appetizer with tomato chutney - fantastic. The scallops melted in your mouth, and were perfectly complimented by the tomato chutney. For the main course my husband had the lamb osso buco, and I had the horseradish crusted salmon. We had the half portions and could not finish even that. We sat at the bar so Brandon, the bartender could select our wines and make dinner recommendations.

He is so knowledgeable, attentive, and his wine selections paired perfectly with our entrees. We had the opportunity to sit next to the owner, and could not wait to tell him about how much we love VInology. We drive an hour to come here - the experience is that good. If it is just two of you - I highly recommend sitting at the bar - you won't regret it!

Great food, great wine, great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen050413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
417 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Creative dining!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went for small plates late in the afternoon and none of were disappointed We each had a different menu item and were all happy with our selections. Excellent wait staff, extremely attentive They have an extensive wine menu and wonderful happy hour. Yes, I would definitely dine here again!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had dinner at Vinology for the first time this weekend and I have to say, I was a bit disappointed. I had reviewed the menu online and we had a group of 10 for dinner there. We were seated downstairs, the atmosphere was great, a bit dark, but overall very comfortable. We ordered a variety of meat dishes, fish dishes, salads and appetizers. The general consensus was that all dishes were too "saucy". The sauce on most platters drowned out the flavor of the main ingredients. The waiter, while attentive, was not very knowledgeable. We asked for cappuccino after dinner and his response was "not sure if we have it or not, I think the machine was broken the other day". Hmmmmm....Won't go back, too many other great options in Ann Arbor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJK941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManager13, Owner at Vinology, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for reporting your experience as this greatly helps us target any problems and improve our service. We take such complaints very seriously and do our best to execute the best food, service, and dining experience possible for our guests. Since we received your post, we have interviewed all parties involved and taken necessary action to insure that our service and food quality improve. We feel that your experience was perhaps an isolated incident as our service and food does not normally disappoint. Our menus items rotate seasonally and our new winter menu is set to launch next week. We understand that Ann Arbor offers many options, but we hope that you will consider joining us again.

Kristin Jonna
info@vinologya2.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Food Disappointing”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There is a lot to like about Vinology - the atmosphere, the friendly and knowledgable staff, the wine selection, and the cleverness of the menu. But there was a problem with each of the dishes the 5 in our party ordered. We are not "foodies," but for some reason the sauces and meat/veggie/starch items on our plates did not blend or harmonize. For some, the sweet fruit sauce was overpowering. Two people found their meat undercooked - one found it inedible. We knew Vinology was going to be expensive (the 5 of us, with wine, were well over $300 - and that included a free birthday dessert), but we expected more outstanding meals for the price. We've eaten there before without such disappointment, but we are unlikely to return in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinology also viewed

 

Been to Vinology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing