We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff, average stay, HORRIBLE POOL”
Review of Days Inn Alpena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Alpena
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Upon arrival, we asked if we could move our room to be with the other wedding guests that were staying in the same hotel which were family members. The hotel clerk said "no". Not "I'm sorry, this is a busy weekend" or "let me see what I can do". Meanwhile a big great dane dog was behind the counter with his front paws on the counter, which appeared to be the front clerks dog that she brings to work. Good thing I don't have allergies.

The pool was horrible. There was no ventilation and was really the strongest smell of chlorine I have ever encountered. My kids were swimming at 10AM on a Sat morning and there were no pool towels to be had. I mentioned it to a housekeeper, who looked down at her paperwork and then said she would bring them when she had time.

I suppose for the area it's what you are going to get, and there aren't many choices in the area so they aren't going to go out of their way. (just my opinion).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 532 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the best place to stay very clean / helpfull it was sad for us my brother was in the hosp/ dying everything was great

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Poretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Karl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were there for my sisters wedding and we had children.We had 2 families staying there. Of course their two favorite places in the hotel are continental breakfast and the pool. The continental breakfast was adequate but could have had more choices. (Fruit and Donuts were mentioned by the children.) The big problem was the fact that the staff seemed to be unconcerned with the pool area. Both days we were doing wedding things during the day and when the kids got to the pool about 6-7pm each night there were no towels. The second night we went up to the desk to pick some up and they simply said they were out ?!?! Also the area was very HOT and had a overly STRONG chlorine odor. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable but we had a hard time keeping our refrigerator closed, the seal was wearing out. The bathroom was nice and we appreciated the bathtub. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. We would come to stay again but please buy more towels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Elisabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank SLabana
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
2.0 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#3 of 7 in Alpena
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Of Alpena
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpena - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
51 reviews
18.0 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
25 reviews
20.1 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alpena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alpena

Address: 1496 M 32 W, Alpena, MI 49707-8194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range: $75 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alpena 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Alpena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alpena Hotel Alpena
Alpena Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing