We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Of Alpena
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have chosen to stay at this location for many years, the great service, good internet, a comfortable bed makes this weary traveler feel at home even after nearly a month of living here. I have stayed at the competition in the past and I always come back here because you just can't beat the value and comfort at the Best Western Alpena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 276 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while attending the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival. It is a basic room and has all you need, microwave, mini fridge. The bed spread seemed a little dirty and the pillows were the size of decorative couch pillows. We both woke up with neck aches. Other than that, they have a breakfast bar, no bananas, surprisingly, but they have a decent spread. It's convenient to everything. We were satisfied for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLLDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Days Inn, which I also stayed in while I was there, was better than this property. The front desk people were wonderful but the place lost points with me for a C- breakfast and the layout of the motel. My room was "inside cabin". It open onto hallways on both sides. My air conditioner was sucking hall air! If you stay there, get a room with an outside wall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixelpanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great stay, clean room, attentive staff, free breakfast, pool hot tub area is clean. Breakfast area probably a little small at peak season. Convenient location right on M-32 and across from a WalMart with Subway and Culvers close by and 5 minutes from down town. I will definitely stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ground level, a couple of rooms are located up stairs with no elevator. Be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snipe49445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent one night here while driving through Michigan. Room was compact, but fine for one person. Great shower pressure - which is a pet peeve of mine! Two doors - one at the back to pull up the car and unload easily, one in the front to access the enclosed hallway to the lobby. Breakfast was fine - they had waffles, so I was happy. Got a good dinner recommendation - the Chinese restaurant across the parking lot has delicious food! Excellent customer service at the front desk both in the evening and for the morning crew. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were visiting family in Aplena and Posen for the weekend of September 27th and 28th 2013 and choose the Best Western upon the good reviews. Great find, no disappointment here. We have traveled a lot and this hotel and staff is one of the top places we have stayed. The rooms and the hotel lobby, breakfast area were all kept immaculate. The beds, pillows, towels were all very good. Nice breakfast with biscuits & gravy, boiled eggs, waffles, cereal, juice, yogurt etc. Our room had a frig. micro-wave and best of all an outside entrance making is so easy for us to unload our luggage since we are both in our 70's. The hotel staff were very efficient to our needs and very friendly. We ask the staff if they enjoyed working there and they all raved about the owners and how they go above the norm to keep their hotel in top shape for their guest and workers. Best in Alpena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Average room, clean, fridge, microwave. Attentive front desk staff. Pool, hot tub, and cardio equipment. We used the conference room for a small gathering and it worked out great. AM breakfast is a decent (carb-fest), there is a waffle iron!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
1.9 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#3 of 7 in Alpena
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpena - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Water's Edge Motel
Water's Edge Motel
#3 of 4 in Alpena
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Alpena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Alpena

Address: 1285 M 32 W, Alpena, MI 49707-8105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range: $86 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Alpena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Of Alpena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpena
Alpena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing