We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corner cutting doesn't cut it.”
Review of Water's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water's Edge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Alpena B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Corner cutting doesn't cut it.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms look comfortable......
Outdated electrical outlets. Wifi sucks, bed is a rock, homemade cobbled wiring that poses a fire hazard. One owner nice the other rude. Beachfront they are on is filthy. Had to walk at least a football field length down the coast for cleaner beach. This could be a nice place if they truly cared.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wakaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable, Management was friendly, and help us find places we wanted to go. Even gave us a map so we wouldn't get lost. Spent time on the beach with a fire. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Motel in very poor condition. Needs major updating. Stayed there one night only because all other area motels were filled. Now I know why. I would suggest checking out a room before formally checking in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alpena hotels

Jackson, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I chose this motel based on the pictures and descriptions shown on its website. Because we were staying for a night during a holiday weekend, I thought it best to make reservations first. Since I had given my credit card up front, I was afraid to back out in fear that my card would be charged anyway. I should have taken the chance. The room was filthy dirty and I am sure the sheets had not been washed or changed. The bathroom was so tiny & dirty, it was almost impossible to use it. The owners had a lot of nerve charging $77 for this ~ they sure don't spend the money on improvements or maid services. We couldn't get out of there fast enough in the morning and sure won't ever stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place stinks and is old and dirty. If you are at all particular about your stays out, this is NOT the place for you, especially with the family. We were lured in by the "pet friendly", but not even happy about the dog laying on the floor. Unless you have pets and are in a bind, keep looking elsewhere. We are braving the night, but will be cancelling the rest of our stay here. The previous reviews are confusing about clean and nice, but I guess it all depends on what you are used to on a daily basis and how you live.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing , Michgan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I agree with earlier post that rooms nearer #10 are best, I got # 9 by chance. My dog was welcome. To be fair , the room wasnt that great, but not bad or dirty. The comforters arent new , might have a burn hole or two, the TV is old (but it worked), and the bathroom is tiny, but has a working shower at the normal height.
I'd suggest asking to see a room if you are very particular. The owner was very nice and I wouldnt want to suggest they put their place up as luxury . It is ON THE BEACH and their land is next to a much larger city beach so, it'd be a big bill if Holiday Inn owned it....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Mi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a mom and pop motel. Our King bed was comfortable and the sheets were good. The bath towels were thick and soft. The carpet was stained and probably dirty but otherwise the room was clean. The large picture window offered a lovely view of the lake. Nice beach. Can walk to restaurants. I recommend staying in a room numbered 5 or higher since they are further from the road. We did not hear traffic noise in our room (number 5). The owners were very nice.

I would stay here again -- but not for my anniversary...!!

Room Tip: close to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
2.2 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Of Alpena
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Motel

Property: Water's Edge Motel
Address: 1000 State St., Alpena, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Water's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena. Located on beautiful Thunder Bay, the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena is the perfect hotel choice for your visit.The Water's Edge Motel is just steps away from some of Alpena's finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, museums, and many beach front parks.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Water's Edge Motel is an outstanding value. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Water's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing