We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Restaurant

Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Alpena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant serving made from scratch dishes. Fresh seafood, steaks, italian, pizza and burgers
Alpena, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food, waitstaff and the atmosphere are great! I've been coming here for years (since I live in Alpena) and I will always recommend The Courtyard to any out-of-towners who are looking for a great place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    55
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“"The BEST Quinoa & Prime Rib in N.E. Michigan"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Let's be honest here....


We are so limited in this area of N.E. Michigan that it is truly challenging to compare Courtyard to any other fine dinning restaurant. What else is there "John A Lau Saloon"!? Unfortunately, Lau's has been more of a miss than a hit lately. Looking forward to trying out The Cellar.


Courtyard DESERVES the 5 star's, from front of house to the back they really run a tight ship. Their wait staff is accommodating & always friendly. Their chef is AMAZING! Very talented has a great sense of balance with his dishes. His spices are right on point, bold and flavorful but never overwhelming. The prime rib is cooked perfectly, never under cooked or over cooked, which we know can be quite the challenge in most rest's.

We have dined at the Courtyard at least 15 times and we have not been disappointed thus far.

The ambiance is warm, relaxing and quite nice. Their music is not bad, actually from time to time they have great musicians.

Bottom line:
Excellent food (fresh, surprisingly tasty & a nice selection)
Great ambiance (welcoming wait staff)
Lounge/bar area (good music, always a good time)

*This chef turned me into a Quinoa fanatic...I have yet to experience a more flavorful Quinoa.

This chef nails it!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best service, best food in Alpena! Highly recommend visiting for a warm atmosphereand welcoming staff. Food is priced for exceptional quality and great enough for a romantic date or casual friendly dinner. The prime rib will seduce your palate for a gratifying experience at The Courtyard!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seangarafolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posen MI
1 review
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great food choices. Great service. Attentive wait staff. This place has never been a disappointment, from a planned bridal shower to drinks and appitizers after a tough day at work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillman, Michigan
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was born and raised near the Alpena area and the CourtYard continues to be my favorite local restaurant. Wonderful services and a unique variety of foods that are all fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KKG_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing