We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit of Alma History”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bit of Alma History”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our family was in Alma for my Dad's 90th birthday. Although I grew up in Alma we had not stayed at Saravilla before. The place was terrific. Great home, accomodations and Jon is quite the Alma history buff. We would recommend this home to anyone visiting Alma. There is nothing else like it in Gratiot county. I've stayed at B&B's many times but have to say this actually felt like a home. Thanks to Jon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
71
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Heights, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Incredible home and the perfect get-away. Linda & Jon are wonderful, friendly, helpful innkeepers (and great cooks!). The place was spotless, every detail was perfect, rooms large and very comfortable. Many special extras provided. The big front porch and rocking chairs rounded out the experience. A must do again!!

Room Tip: East rooms get beautiful morning sun, great view of the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Absolutely Beautiful - an 1890's three story mansion built by a lumber baron and now the Saravilla Bed and Breakfast. Upon arrival Jon met us at the door and helped carry some of our luggage (very favorable impression) and gave us a tour of the home. Both Jon and his wife Linda were friendly, gracious and most accommodating. Our room was large and comfortable and well furnished with period furnishings. Our room had a separate sitting room and a very large bathroom with a roomy shower. The breakfast was delicious and second helpings were offered. Amenities include a hot tub, exercise machine, Wi-Fi, pool table, ping pong and a piano which made my 16 year old daughter happy. I especially enjoyed the parlor which was also a library. Situated on a quiet tree lined residential street with a huge from porch for relaxing - Saravilla is definitely on my top five list of B and B’s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

In the Alma Michigan area, this is the only place to stay. Very comfortable and charming, but casual (does not feel stuffy like some B&B's). Linda and Jon are very gracious and helpful. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Absolutely superb in all regards. Jon met us and immediately took us on a complete tour of the historic old home. Both Jon and Linda were like family, glad to see us and welcome us totally and warmly. Breakfast is served on our time schedule, not theirs. Many beds and breakfasts serve breakfast at a set time but not at Saravilla.
They made it clear in words and actions that their first priority is their guests. During breakfast they both provided excellent information as to the history of Alma and, particularly, Saravilla.
It is difficult to comprehend Gena's review. Out's was precisely the opposite. We'll be back soon and plan on taking friends with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights at Saravilla in Alma.Immediately on our arrival,we were entering the unlocked "guest entrance" when Linda appeared and looked at me in complete shock that I was there....I introduced myself and she was mumbling something about the doorbell....I was instantly feeling unwelcome.Jon took us on a tour and I felt like we were being hurried through.....They asked about breakfast and I said just a coffee and muffin will be fine....I honestly didn't want them preparing a breakfast,,,,i was very uncomfortable.Room was clean and quiet,except at 7 am today when the wood chipping machines started....the Inn was lovely,but I felt that the Innkeepers were cold....just my opinion.

Room Tip: The garden room has a petite claw foot tub.....very cool....I got the bad feeling on arrival that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravilla, Owner at Saravilla Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are so sorry you were uncomfortable during your stay at Saravilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Some people may think they would feel more comfortable staying at a chain hotel, but they will change their minds once they sleep in the quiet comfort of the Saravilla Bed and Breakfast. We happened upon this gem with a recommendation from our son who lives in Alma. The home is a beautiful Dutch colonial home in the heart of Alma. We have stayed in the Garden room and the Turret Room, both equally charming. Breakfast is always a delectable combo of fruit/yogurt and a savory egg/bake. Coffee is available when requested and a toaster, bagels, etc. are also available. Linda and Jon provide a lovely and comfortable home away from home.

Room Tip: For a king size bed, choose the Turret or Garden room. The Turret room has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
16.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
134 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Central Michigan University
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Centra...
#6 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
442 reviews
16.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing