We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allendale
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

For proximity to Grand Valley State University, this hotel cannot be beat. You can leave the hotel, pick up your child from the north end of campus, and be back to the hotel in less than 10 minutes. The rooms are clean and adequate. The standard rooms are small and oddly configured; the toilet/shower are separated by a pocket door with the sink in the main bedroom. The entry door is flush with the rest of the room, so there is no corner to step around if you want to change clothes out of view from the other room occupants. However, the suites are quite nice and well-sized and not too much more expensive.

The included breakfast leaves much to be desired. I would rather go out and buy breakfast at a local restaurant or go over to the university rather than dine on the small selection of pastries available. Also, make sure to review your bill at checkout as standard practice is to charge a $1.50/night charge for the safe, even if you did not use it. Each time I have asked the charge has been readily deducted but if you are not observant you will be charged.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    25
    11
    30
See reviews for
39
10
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LAKE ODESSA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Clean hotel and staff is ok. Problem is that the walls in the rooms are paper thin. You can hear people in next room talking. not a party or louding just talking with them selfs. that is why the TV remote volume only goes to 15. Can not turm it higher because the management knows about the walls.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We travelled to Allendale for two nights for a wedding and needed to be close to the reception (which was at the restaurant across the parking lot). So the location was convenient, but the hotel had some flaws.

Pros: Clean Rooms and Common Areas, Excellent Staff
Cons: Small Rooms, Thin Walls, Cold Pool, Poor Breakfast, Overpriced, No Bath Tubs

The price of the room was outrageous for the quality of the hotel, but when you are the only choice in town, you can get away with that. The walls are paper thin; apparently the hotel caters to college sports teams that are travelling to the area to play against GVSU. After a long day, we put the kids and ourselves to bed early, only to be woken up at midnight by voices in the next room. We were travelling with two young children that take baths, not showers. The Sleep Inn only has showers, unless you pay almost double to get a suite with a jacuzzi tub. We would have stayed somewhere else, but this is the only decent hotel within miles so we drained our wallet to get the suite. The standard king room our friends stayed in was tiny, so the extra room provided by our suite was convenient.

The pool is small, and very, VERY cold. Our kid’s lips turned blue as they shivered after only ten minutes, it actually felt warmer when you stepped out of the pool vs. being in the water.

The first morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel, bread, bread, bread, bread and oatmeal. The options were starch or coffee. We were very disappointed with the breakfast selection. I had to drive across the street to get decent coffee. The next morning, we chose brunch at the restaurant across the parking lot.

On a positive note, the staff was excellent; they were very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to say hello and meet our needs. I wish all hotels’ employed staff as good as this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed here three nights while visiting my niece who is a student at Grand Valley State University. The room was clean and fairly standard. There is no tub, but a new and deluxe shower stall. I liked the shower very much; my sister disliked it. The mattress could have been more comfortable. We never ate breakfast at the hotel; I understand it was a fairly sparse continental breakfast. There is a good place for breakfast just down the road, however, at Murphy's Family Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Our stay at the Sleep Inn in Allendale was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the pool was a perfect place to take the kids - it was a big treat to be in warm water splashing about when the temperature outside is so low!
We will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is perfectly situated next to Grand Valley State University -- it is perfect for conferences at the University or visiting parents. Great space, great value -- a much needed addition to Allendale!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank violinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Sleeps Inn after traveling to Allendale to drop our child off at GVSU. Overall our stay was comfortable, the hotel staff was courteous and the room was exceptionally clean however, the walls are so thin that I could hear every comment, TV and movement form other guest around me. The worse part of our stay was when the people above us (several drunken young men) came back to the hotel around 2:30am and continued partying until 4am. Needless to say we call and complained to the front desk but I did no good. If the Sleeps Inn added insulation to the walls this hotel would be perfect.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingTeddy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allendale
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 4 in Grandville
105 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Coopersville
Rodeway Inn Coopersville
#1 of 1 in Coopersville
48 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn Hudsonville
Quality Inn Hudsonville
#1 of 2 in Hudsonville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Grandvillage Inn
Grandvillage Inn
#4 of 4 in Grandville
114 reviews
9.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids N/Walker
16.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Address: 4869 Becker Dr, Allendale, MI 49401-8616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Allendale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Allendale
Sleep Inn Allendale
Allendale Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing