We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone back again and again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gus and Us Grill

Gus and Us Grill
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Allen Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Gone back again and again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a wonderful place to have a meal. My two favorite breakfasts are eggs benedict (I always order extra sauce) and the corned beef breakfast hash with eggs. With both the lunch and dinner menu, there is a wide range of choices. I love the stuffed cabbage. It reminds me of my grand father's Hungarian recipe. The french fries are excellent. Perfectaly cooked to a golden brown, crunchy on the outside and fluffy soft on the inside. Recently my wife and I had dinner. I had one of my favorite Greek dishes and she wanted to try the breaded deep fried shrimp. This was the only meal in which we were greatly disappointed. The shrimp were frozen, pre -prepared breaded shrimp. The coating was thick with very little shrimp inside. Some of the little nuggets contained no shrimp and in addition, they were over cooked. Never-the-less, I highly recommend Gus and Us. Don't let one meal keep you from giving it a try It's definitely not keeping us away. Just do not order the deep fried shrimp.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Extensive menu...not just Greek. EVERYTHING that I have tried has been good. Home-made food at a GREAT price. The Greek trio was WONDERFUL and large enough for 2 meals. They also have unusual things, such as tuna noodle casserole (home made), turkey and dressing, and a large selection of seafood. The rice pudding is to DIE for...so save room for dessert. All this at some VERY reasonable prices. The staff members are friendly and prompt. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
731 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Good food. Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant features an extensive reasonably priced menu. The portions are quite large. We had the Greek Trio (Pastitsio, Mousaka, and Spinach Pie) which was large enough to share. We also had the chicken kebob dinner. Both were excellent. The restaurant is modern, clean and looks like it has been recently renovated. The service was very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A family run greek diner. The staff is extremely friendly, and warm. Many of the dishes are made from scratch, not the frozen sysco stuff you find every where else downriver. slightly on the expensive side, but it is pretty darn good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texasdave9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What A Great Place to Eat Not Just Greek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were regulars @ the previous restaurant at this site but when Gus & Us Grill came in it's become a wonderful experience, with great atmosphere like a upscale family restaurant-love the dark wood...their soups du jour: Italian Wedding, Clam Chowder, Chicken Pot Pie, Potato, Mushroom, and always on menu: French Onion & Chicken Lemon Rice and the list goes on are all incredible! Desserts are homemade & their taste is awesome...try the Sunshine Cake or Carrot Cake or any of them!!! Specials are a must to try..Philly Steak, Prime Rib Burger or any burger, Goulash, etc. Their Turkey Rueben, Wraps, our friends like the Lamb Chops...Friday Fish are all great! Strawberry Walnut Chicken Salad is great-I get it with Iceberg Lettuce instead of the Spring Mix Lettuces. If you didn't particularly care for something-food/service, etc, let them know as they make an effort to fix rather than just say 'OK' & then do nothing-they truly are a 'customer first' restaurant. Great Wait Staff include Krista, Andrea, both Kelli's, Roxanne, Liza & others. You'll Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus and Us Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gus and Us Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing