We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Place to Eat Not Just Greek!”
Review of Gus and Us Grill

Gus and Us Grill
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Allen Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What A Great Place to Eat Not Just Greek!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were regulars @ the previous restaurant at this site but when Gus & Us Grill came in it's become a wonderful experience, with great atmosphere like a upscale family restaurant-love the dark wood...their soups du jour: Italian Wedding, Clam Chowder, Chicken Pot Pie, Potato, Mushroom, and always on menu: French Onion & Chicken Lemon Rice and the list goes on are all incredible! Desserts are homemade & their taste is awesome...try the Sunshine Cake or Carrot Cake or any of them!!! Specials are a must to try..Philly Steak, Prime Rib Burger or any burger, Goulash, etc. Their Turkey Rueben, Wraps, our friends like the Lamb Chops...Friday Fish are all great! Strawberry Walnut Chicken Salad is great-I get it with Iceberg Lettuce instead of the Spring Mix Lettuces. If you didn't particularly care for something-food/service, etc, let them know as they make an effort to fix rather than just say 'OK' & then do nothing-they truly are a 'customer first' restaurant. Great Wait Staff include Krista, Andrea, both Kelli's, Roxanne, Liza & others. You'll Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Continued visits are NOT a disappointment”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been back several times alone and with friends. Everyone has said how good the food was. We are never disappointed. On weekends you can find lamb chops and shank on the menu. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Regular Eater”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We go there practically every Sunday for breakfast. Even when it was Opa's Opals. The food is consistently good and the wait staff is very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Real Gyro's Carved off the Spit,,,Flaming Cheese too”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Family Friendly, Amazing Meals YUM

A totally redone new eating spot you need to eat at. For 35 years this place was first the Parkland and then Opa Opa and has just reopened by new owners and all new interior and new comfy seating area. The fast friendly attentive service with a smile, along with positive energy this guy GUS has a truly great experienced crew.. The Sunday afternoon crowd told me word has already got out that this will be on my regular eating spot list.
Classic Greek and American dinners along with seafood and mega breakfast selections that are plated up all day. We started with the Saganaki flaming cheese which was super loaded with flavor as well was the baby Greek salad and the 2 soups the Lemon Rice and Beef Barley was on of the best I've ever eaten. The real deal Gyro sliced from the hot spinning spit was full of that great juicy flavor dipped in the tzatziki sauce. The jumbo Lamb Kebab was marinated to produce a superb tender exciting flavor which was plated up with the most amazing french cut green beans covers in that famous Greek red sauce YUM.
The Turkey & Stuffing special came with mashed taters, corn, soup or salad was a mega deal which was way too much to finish, dressing and all white meat turkey at only $ 8 will be on my list of get it again meals. A special shout out to our waitress Roxanne who was truly on top off her game keeping a close eye on drinks and dirty plates and my favorite of bring along a bag for the leftover boxes which happens rarely. We'll be back for much more over the next few months since I'm sure will be soon added to my favorites list of downriver. Make sure to LIKE their Facebook site as they post the daily specials. ENJOY

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BREWINGBIGBEERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Greek dishes!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Gus & Us Restaraunt has taken over the location of Opa Opa. Newly renovated and great food. We tried it for the first time yesterday and took our grand kids there today. Gyro, Greek specialties and sandwiches were tried today. Excellent, no one was disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarkgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus and Us Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Gus and Us Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing