We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gus and Us formally Opa Opa”
Review of Gus and Us Grill

Gus and Us Grill
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Allen Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Gus and Us formally Opa Opa”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Formally Opa Opa Gus and Us is now open for business in Allen Park

Location - Allen Park Mi, corner of Outerdrive and Southfield

Menu - Basic Coney Island Menu with a few extras

Price - depending on what you want anywhere between $5 and $10

Overall Quality - is really good , the goulash is great and the chicken wraps are a good menu item too. From the looks of the breakfast dishes we seen on other tables there is ample portions.

Atmosphere - family dining with a corner coney get together, I would recommend Gus and Us if your looking for a good quality meal at a fair price. The dining room and restaurant has been refurbished and looks great.

Will be a repeat customer ,....... Nice Job

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lack of Service”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've eaten here a few times over the years. Has good greek food; when you get it served promptly. The last two times we've dined here (on a slow Sunday) the "hostess" didn't greet us and the waitresses just stared at us - no greeting; nothing. Once we were finally seated, it took forever to be given water (requested twice) and then it took forever for the waitress to take our order. Again, this is on Sunday at 6ish - there were only one or two other tables full of people. This has happened twice. We will not return. Two strikes you're out. We can get Opa Opa at another Greek restaurant that is busy (probably because of good food AND service).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go to this non-chain restaurant.”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This coney is great value. The food is decent and the staff are usually attentive. This is located conveniently off the Southfield Highway.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stylurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Greek, Incrediable Coneys”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

You can see it, and it may be a little tricky to get there, but it is way worth it.
This is an old time clssic Greek Coney Island. Fantastic Coneys, sandwiches, salads, soups - the best lemon rice soup I ever had and I eat it lots. OPA OPA has an extensive menu, and it goes way beyond a typical coney restaurant, so I would suggest you try this yourself. I have never had anything but super food. All I can say is OPA OPA.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeecartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus and Us Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gus and Us Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing