We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing people.”
Review of Hostal Graciela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Graciela
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
“The most amazing people.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in June of this year. Our double room was large and comfortable with cable tv and a hot shower in the en suite. Breakfast was great and cooked by Liz whose family own and run the hostel. There was bread, eggs, fruit, tea, coffee, yogurt and really delicious hot chocolate. Oruro itself doesn't have too much, but everything that is worth seeing should be seen with Luis who helps run the hostel and does all the tours that Hostel Graciela offer. Luis had a great knowledge of the local area and particularly the history and archaeology around Oruro. He took us to see ancient burials and to an amazing place absolutely littered with ancient Incan pottery. We became really good friends with Liz and Luis and they invited us to come back after we had been to Tarija (where if you visit you should stay in Hostel Casablanca) to spend the Winter Solstice festival with them. We accepted their invitation and had one of the most amazing experiences we had anywhere in South America. They took us to a sacred place where we joined in the Winter Solstice celebrations of the Aymara people. We made offerings to Pacha Mammadrank beer and local moonshine (powerful stuff!) with all the Aymaran elders until 3am and then we all hiked together up a nearby hill as the Aymaras played instruments and sang (they drink and hike like nothing I've ever seen). At the top of the mountain we heard the rising of the Sun with more drinking and the sacrifice of a llama. After we had paid tribute to the Sun and Mother Earth, Luis showed us the archaeological ruins on top of the mountain. Afterwards we hiked down again to find the Aymara were still partying and had made soup from the llama which we all share. Hostel Graciela was great value for many and as comfortable as anywhere we stayed in South America but it was really Luis and Liz that make it a special place. On our last night they made us a delicious meal that we shared with a few bottles of wine. If you visit Oruro, don't story anywhere else. Liz and.Luis are two of the most beautiful people we have ever met and our friends for life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
31
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Oruro hasn't got much to it.. The carnival is the biggest event..
But it's a nice place if you're not willing to do much ..
Graciela hostel is run nicely by lis and Lewis and the rest..
Nice and hospitable people and considerate too..
Definitely recommend it..

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank messh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Maybe we just got the dodgy room (108) but it was pretty average. Sagging, thin mattress and flat pillows made for an uncomfortable night sleep. The ensuite...just bizarre! It's tiny, which is fine for a toilet and sink but then they've gone and plumbed a shower hose to the side of the wall, no curtain just a drain hole. So if you shower everything in that tiny room gets soaked - weird! The sink leaked all over the floor each time we used it. We got barely any wifi reception in the room and often none at all. There is cable TV which is a bonus. It gets very cold at night but there's enough blankets to stay warm. There are no social areas to hang out with other travellers. Breakfast was included and very plain: bread rolls, butter, jam, a bowel of strawberry yoghurt and a hot drink. This place has a lot of potential, it's just old and tired. I'd stay somewhere a bit nicer next time.

Room Tip: Room 108 has poor wifi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantinauta, Director de Recepción at Hostal Graciela, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Hostal Graciela!

Luis has personally slept in every room in the hostal to ensure maximum comfort for our guests, but we apologize that you had an uncomfortable night of sleep. Each room has a private bathroom that most of our guests have found it quite suitable for hot showers. There is rapid and free WiFi in our lobby downstairs if you have trouble with it in your room. Our sunny breakfast dining room, as well as our downstairs lobby, provide spaces for many travelers to socialize and enjoy a hot cup of mate de coca.

We provide a FREE breakfast to all our guests, that includes fresh bread, homemade marmalade or dulce de leche and butter, a hot tea or coffee, yogurt and cereal, and fresh fruit or juice when available. We are sorry that it did not quite meet your expectations. We are always working to improve our services for travelers to have a enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Oruro is really not a town for tourists, and I'd suggest avoiding it if you can. That being said, this is a lovely and reasonable place with a very helpful staff. They make a delightful breakfast and the rooms have good hot water. The downside? The bathrooms are small and the rooms are basic--no bedside light or anything. It's also not right in the middle of town, but the good points surely outweigh the bad here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This nice little hostel is runned by family.
We got a warm welcome when arrived.
We got lot's of tips where to go in oruro.
Room is basic but good. Bathroom is very very small, you can go to the toilet and shower at the same time! But the most important thing is that there is hot water!
The day that we got the nighttrain we could stay during the day at the reception.
Liz was very nice and gave us a hot cup of herbal tea.
We had a short but good stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lellebel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hostel has only been open for a year, but they definitely know how to do things right.

Amazing staff.. Liz, the owner's daughter, was more than happy to give us information on Oruro. When we asked if we could boil some water for coffee, Luis, their business associate, insisted on bringing us hot water and a tea set TO OUR ROOM. When was the last time you goice as room service in Bolivia?

The place is pretty nice.. Clean rooms and bathrooms, nicely decorated hallways and grounds, nice dining area with an awesome FREE breakfast. And it was very very cheap, around the same price as your average hole-in-the-wall Bolivian hostel, but MUCH nicer, definitely the best value in Oruro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

excellent servis, people working helped us with everything we needed, clean rooms, possibility to "buy" tours to national park of sajama etc right in hostal. the best hostal ive ever been. and not expensive

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nathalie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oruro hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Houston
#5 of 14 in Oruro
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#8 of 14 in Oruro
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virgen del Socavon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Real San Felipe
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Graciela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Graciela

Property: Hostal Graciela
Address: Calle Herrera # 47, entre 6 de Agosto y Backovick, Oruro 8920, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Oruro Department > Oruro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Oruro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Hostel Graciela your home in Oruro, Bolivia-home to Carnival and a perfect base to explore the mystical altiplano, or rest before traveling on to Salar de Uyuni. Stay in our comfortable single, double or triple rooms with private baths (hot showers! towel included) and cable TV, as well as daily housekeeping service, Enjoy free WIFI and start your day with a delicious breakfast in our sunny dining room, with a small terrace overlooking the city. Free tea and coffee, 24 hours check in and security and luggage storage provided. Laundry service available. Our tourism agency offers personalized advice and excursions to surrounding archaeological and natural wonders. We also arrange reservations for your travels by bus, train or air to Uyuni, La Paz, Cochabamba, Sucre and other destinations in Bolivia. Our warm and knowledgeable staff will be happy to help you with any questions, requests or advice and make your stay in Oruro wonderful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Graciela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing