We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhigienic hotel and unhelpful and rude staff!”
Review of Hotel Briggs

Hotel Briggs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oruro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Briggs
Ranked #2 of 15 Oruro B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I was booked to spend one night in Oruro due to a university class I was teaching at the local university. The Briggs Hotel is touted to be among the best, if not "the" best hotel in Oruro so I was quite disgusted when I pulled back the covers to find a poorly made bed strewn with hairs. When I called reception they initially called me a liar and said sheets had been changed, then a bell boy came and agreed the bed had not been changed, but they refused to change them (due to no personnel at 10pm), refused to give me fresh sheets so I could make the bed myself or even give me another room (hotel was not booked solid). I changed to the Hotel Sucre, which doesn't look much better, but at least the sheets look washed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GaiaBolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Briggs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

It was nearly impossible to find a hotel for the Oruro festival. Luckily after much research I found this place. I had to book for 3 days and it was very expensive due to the carnival. I also had to send half by Western Union to reserve it. The rooms were on the small side but nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was grand and the waitress there was really nice. The wife of the hotel manager, I think her name was Mariele, was super nice and helped us get the balcony of the Plaza Hotel to see the carnival. The Plaza hotel is a dump, but the terrace was the best place to see the carnival without getting paltered by water balloons. We also had the company of some really great Bolivian people that explained the dances and what was going on. We had the buffet lunch there the first day, but they had run out of food and we had to wait for them to make some more. The next day we brought some sandwiches. I didn’t see any other hotels there, but I doubt that there is a better place since this is a new business hotel that caters mainly to business people. Oh, be carful with the sun the air was cold and I was standing in what seemed a mild sun. I got so burned!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EVC-ERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si son de tener calor, pedir una habitación que de al exterior y no a un patio cubierto
Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
1  Thank Fede P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: las que dan hacia la calle les llega algo de ruido por el mercado
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gonzalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luisruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oruro hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#8 of 15 in Oruro
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Virgen del Socavon
0.0 mi away
Hostal Graciela
Hostal Graciela
#1 of 7 in Oruro
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Houston
#5 of 15 in Oruro
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Briggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Briggs

Address: Calle Washington 1206, Oruro, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Oruro Department > Oruro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oruro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing