We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing - love the atmosphere & ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Independencia
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Love this hotel being so close to the main square just 1/2 block. It has 2 peaceful inner courtyards for you to escape and relax if you want to. Lovely atmosphere to complement this really beautiful city. Stayed 3 nights. Take a room on the upper floor - was able to leave window open. Away from the foot traffic of the lower floors not that the hotel was busy.

Room Tip: Top floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceSL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of G Adventures tour and had a very relaxing stay. The rooms are large and clean and the hotel is beautiful with lovely courtyards. Centrally located within walkign distance of everywhere you´d want to go.

Staff were helpful and breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Really great hotel. Offers a continental breakfast (plus eggs) every morning. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had troubles with the television but then we didn't go to Sucre to watch t.v., so for us it was really a non-issue. Beautiful centre court that guest can relax in if you get tired from walking around the city. Hotel is nice and close to most places you would want to go and see. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEJAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I was here three nights staying on the ground floor in a double. It's true it can be a bit noisy if you leave the window to the courtyard open, but I had no problem sleeping, both with it open and closed. The rOoms are sufficiently large with great shower pressure, but mine did smell a bit musty. To me, the patio made up for everything!! It's a sunny, beautiful place to read or hang out when not enjoying Sucre from the outside...the room is just a safe place to sleep as far as I am concerned!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A very grand, colonial style hotel with two lovely courtyards. A good sized room with plenty of space, large writing desk, bed side table, luggage rack and two beds. The room did get quite hot, especially in the evenings.

It's quite close to some church bells which can get quite noisy at certain times, it's also next to a girl's school and they were noisier than the bells! Therefore, I recommend some ear plugs. You might also want an eye mask as the curtains didn't block much light.

The bathroom was clean and fresh with a good shower.

For once they seem to understand the needs of the modern traveller, with plenty of electrical sockets around the room for recharging laptops and cameras etc. There were two free Internet terminals in the reception area, and they were a decent spec for a change.

After two nights the hotel asked if we would swap rooms. It was a much nicer room with a fridge and a sofa, a bathroom that had a bath and a shower - so we were happy to oblige. It was just round the corner from our previous room, but being northeast facing rather than southeast, it seemed to keep the room cooler and the light seemed to be less of an issue. We were a bit closer to the school though!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonShallcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Great hotel. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in South America. Rooms are different sizes. Nice courtyard, only downfall is that is can be noisy when plenty of guests are in courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank herbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Lovely hotel but the only negative point is the noise. Not because of the tourist with a significant lack of education who speak loudely in the corridors, but also the staff who shout from a patio to the other. Bad point. Room is a bit small. The building is really beautiful. No restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aymaraviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#16 of 18 in Sucre
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
0.1 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Kolping Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Independencia

Address: Calle Calvo # 31, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: $70 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Independencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independencia Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing