We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, staff mainly great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, staff mainly great”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice property and despite a shaky start with a miserable check-in the staff were generally helpful and cheerful. Our only negative comment would be they don't adjust to long stay guests very well: we stayed 8 nights: we appreciated our request for a larger room being accommodated (but we had to ask...) yet our bottle of water in the bathroom was never replaced and the selection at breakfast became monotonous. Add a little thought and pro-activity for the folks who break your normal 2 night pattern and it would be a 5/5

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cracker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to inform you that we took into account your observations and that we will do our best to improve the quality of our services for long stays. I also would like to apologize for the unreplaced bottle of water in your room, this shouldn't happen and we will make sure this will not happen again.
It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    111
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
62
202
43
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed there for a few days, the hotel has many amenities.
Check the museum in the basement. The hotel gas colonial details throughout, the owner gave us a short tour.
I specially liked the buffet breakfast, yum.
I would go again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights. This place never ceased to amaze us in every aspect. It's a FIVE star hotel with great services. Here travelers are situated in comfort and relaxation. The room is spacious and decorated with aesthetic character and details. Our room has a balcony, from which day and night we could see the church tower in clear view. I will stay at this place again, and look forward to our return to Bolivia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the room you were in. It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked our trip to Sucre at the last minute and chose Parador Santa Maria la Real based on the reviews here. I have to say, they were correct! This place is fantastic. Beautiful architecture, lovely spacious rooms and quality service. I mentioned that it was our honeymoon and we were greeted with complimentary champagne, a fruit and cheese platter, bread and dips! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for this great review. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, whether it is its architecture, service or rooms, and were happy to have contributed to your honeymoon to make it as special as possible.
We hope to see you again some day, for your next visit to Sucre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel has its own museum that is very interesting. Most restaurants are closed in Sucre on a Sunday. On our request, the hotel opened their restaurant for us. It has the best location because its a block from the Cathedral and most museums. The staff was accommodating and helpful. What we liked most about this hotel is the old world character of its architecture and interiors. The history of Sucre is very much felt in the hotel.

Room Tip: For a better view, get the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margiefloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the historical aspects of the building, and it was a pleasure to make it as plesant as possible.

We hope to count you among us again soon for you next trip to Sucre !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a fantastic place with so much character. It is decorated with original paintings, antique furniture and even old wooden church pews and confessionaries. There is even a small museum on the lower level. The service and attention were superb. Mr. Calvo, the owner is a hands on manager and makes sure that your stay is a memorable one. I would definitely recommended this place to any one and I am looking forward to stayind there again.

Room Tip: Each room has its own special character. Beautiful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabelotodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you had a nice time in Sucre.
We do wish you will come back soon and stay with us again ! Best regards from Bolivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. We stayed in a Suite on the 3rd floor at the back of the building and the views were incredible. The room was decorated with paintings and antique furniture - it was very elegant. There's even a museum in the basement, it was fun just roaming around the builing. The staff were helpful and the buffet breakfast was the best we've ever had. We felt like royalty. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Also, check out Abis Patio and Cafe restaurants in Sucre...we really enjoyed the food and service. The menu was well priced also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our services and decoration. We have at heart to make your stay as special as possible and hope you had a nice time in Sucre.
We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#13 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Santa Maria la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Santa Maria la Real

Property: Parador Santa Maria la Real
Address: Bolivar 625, Sucre 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Santa Maria la Real 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parador Santa Maria La Real, which occupies a colonial building style of the eighteenth century offers elegant rooms with private balconies just 1 block from Plaza 25 de Mayo. Spa facilities and fitness center. Rooms at the Santa Maria La Real have four poster beds and elegant wooden furniture. All rooms have large windows and minibar, and some are in the ancient underground corridors. Wi-Fi is available. A breakfast buffet with fresh juices, breads, yogurt and eggs is served daily. It can be served in rooms on request. The 24-hour front desk can secure shuttles to Azurduy Juana de Padilla Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador Santa Maria la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Santa Maria La Real Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing