We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador Santa Maria la Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A stunning place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

A stunning place. Old world charm with beautiful furnishings. Centrally located very close to everything.

Our room was large and well appointed over looking one of many courtyards. Spotlessly clean.

The food at breakfast was very abundant and the choice excellent.

Only downside was the receptionist who seemed a bit dozy. Maybe he was having a bad day!

Highly recommended as a treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Public Relations Manager at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest

Sorry for the lateness of my answer.
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    103
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
186
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

First of all the building is fabulous! Staying at this hotel is an experience similar to living a few days in another century, but in style! The decor is fantastic and unique.

The owner is quite a character, he interacts with travelers and is keen to give some tips or just do small-talk!

What could improve is the staff. There were a few things that were below expectations: front desk trying to short change me, a used bar of soap left in the shower, etc. hope they work on these.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Public Relations Manager at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped ,

Disculpe por la demora de mi respuesta.
Muchas gracias por su lindo comentario, es un placer saber que disfrutaron de su estancia con nosotros. También, quisiera informarle que hemos tomado en cuenta sus observaciones y, gracias a ellas, implementado nuestro servicio.
Sería un encanto contar con ustedes nuevamente para su próxima visita a Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile



This hotel is really very good value. It is right in the centre of Sucre and set in an old hacienda style building with a central courtyard, although there also seemed to be other courtyards and rooms we could not work out they connected to the main hotel! Nevertheless, the room was a cracker for the price, with old wooden floors, tasteful period style furnishings and a very comfortable bed, bathroom was immaculate, although there was a crack in a tile around one of the taps. Staff were pretty helpful, but not over the top so. Breakfasts were Ok but not stunning. They had all the usual fare, but could have lifted the range of goodies a notch. Overall a very good hotel that cannot be beaten for location in Sucre, which is a very walkable city. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Public Relations Manager at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest

Sorry for the lateness of my answer.
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are taking your comments into account in order to improve our service. It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
498 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place offers luxury and taste in a class of its own, matched by few hotels if any in all Bolivia. The decor and artwork reflect colonial influences and if you are lucky, you can get a short tour of the antiquities located in the basement level, lead by the hotel's owner, Luis Rodriguez. Each room is furnished and decorated uniquely. From the top floor and roof veranda, we saw an absolutely stunning crimson sunset over the town's historic skyline.

Room Tip: Check on price and room size before accepting your room, since no two rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated just off the central square of the white city of Sucre. It gave the impression of a hotel striving to become one of the best hotels in Bolivia and my overall impression was that such an accolade would be well deserved by this hotel. The owner of the hotel met us in reception and gave us a personal guided tour of the hotel including the rooftop gymnasium, the splendid views from the roof terrace, the extensive colonial function rooms and a tour of their crypt museum. The overall service was excellent and we were fortunate to be given the matrimonial bedroom with its quaint colonial décor. The restaurant was just across the covered colonial courtyard and a nice touch was the breakfast set out on a table just outside of our room. The décor throughout the hotel was colonial, tasteful and interesting. Altogether an excellent experience.

Hotel booked by Journey Latin America, London

Room Tip: We were fortunate because our bookin agent (Journey Latin America) ensured that we had a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London -Barcelona-Lima
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Parador is a beautiful property in Sucre, very much in line with this lovely city. The breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented, the rooms aere spacious. The owners have purchased the house next door, and soon the hotel will have more rooms which are even better decorated than the current ones. Also, the bathrooms are better and more modern in the new rooms. So, it is currently a wonderful hotel, but it will be even nicer, with more amenities and with a proper restaurant.
The service was good but I also had some trouble with the night guard ( like another reviewer pointed out). They should also get rid of the fake plants on the main courtyard and improve the wifi coverage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LajefaBarcelonaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautiful building, superb breakfast. Rooms are roomy, although ours was a bit gloomy. Great rooftop terrace, and courtyards. Staff very good, although male receptionist was a bit unwelcoming. Only 5 minutes from main square, with many good restaurants and bars nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#12 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Santa Maria la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Santa Maria la Real

Property: Parador Santa Maria la Real
Address: Bolivar 625, Sucre 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Santa Maria la Real 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parador Santa Maria La Real, which occupies a colonial building style of the eighteenth century offers elegant rooms with private balconies just 1 block from Plaza 25 de Mayo. Spa facilities and fitness center. Rooms at the Santa Maria La Real have four poster beds and elegant wooden furniture. All rooms have large windows and minibar, and some are in the ancient underground corridors. Wi-Fi is available. A breakfast buffet with fresh juices, breads, yogurt and eggs is served daily. It can be served in rooms on request. The 24-hour front desk can secure shuttles to Azurduy Juana de Padilla Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador Santa Maria la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Santa Maria La Real Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing