We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location plus more”
Review of Hostal Sucre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Sucre
Ranked #13 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Convenient location to main square, several cafes and restaurants. Room was fine, clean, decent bathroom (not always easy to find in Bolivia), hot water. Wifi erratic. Breakfast provided in lovely breakfast room, helpful, pleasant staff. Very pleasant courtyard with plenty of seating to enjoy the afternoon sun. Recommended as a reasonably priced, mid-range hotel.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor was very convenient, not least I didn't have to haul a heavy pack up the st...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Sucre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at this gorgeous colonial building in the heart of Sucre. My room (habitacion simple, with private bathroom) was clean and perfectly kept. The bathroom had hot water at any time. The Internet connection (Wifi) was good. The room was quiet. No problem to pay with a Visa card. The courtyard is gorgeous (although the chairs and benches are not very comfortable - you will spend a limited amount of time sitting there).
The staff at the reception was very helpful. Because of my bus schedules I arrived around 7:00am on my first day and there were able to accommodate me with a room at no additional cost, which I really appreciated after being tired from excursions and night-bus travel (although I had to leave the room in the afternoon to take possession of the room I was really supposed to stay at).
The breakfasts were slightly above average, continental with limited choice (no buffet) but were served in such a beautiful room, extremely well decorated in colonial style (the room itself could have made for a museum!).
Laundry service available but not really convenient. They do not charge you per kilo but "por pieza" (they charge you for each article of clothing), and you have to insist a little bit if you only have one article to clean. Not really practical.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guigui_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A beautiful hostel, more of a hotel rather it has beautiful courtyard, dingy, dark really small rooms, dirty itchy linen and good clean bathroom with terrific hot shower. Location is allright and there are plenty of restaurants, tour agencies etc around.Breakfast was as usual miserly and the Wifi though slow worked non stop. The staff can be friendlier and more wellcoming and everything is chargable. An okay option but best avoided as there are better options around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful old colonial building and one block away from the main square, so a great location , I only stayed here one night as part of a group tour with Oasis Overland. We had a nice room just off the lovely courtyard. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at Hostal Sucre for six nights before heading to La Paz.

Overall an ok hostel. It's more of a hotel than a hostel really.

- Comfy beds.
- Excellent showers. As hot as you can stand and great pressure.
- Great location - minutes from the main plaza
- Quiet guests - not a party hostel.
Breakfast is the same as most Bolivian hostels. Bread, Jam, coffee, juice. Breakfast room is lovely.

There are a few thing that make me give it an average rating though....

- We stayed in room 26. Whenever the people next door got in the shower the pipes would make the most awful racket. LOUD Clanking, grinding, moaning. They would shower at 6am every morning which meat we had a 6am wake up call every morning. Not good!

- Wifi is poor. It works but constantly disconnects and is very location dependent.

- Rooms smell a bit....bathrooms seem to reek of smoke! Leave the bathroom door open and the whole rooms stinks for some reason! Not sure exactly what the smoke smell is clinging to in the bathrooms. Must be used by guests for smoking.

- No bin in the main room, only a tiny bin in the bathroom. Made it hard to dispose of anything.
- Lighting poor in room. Two Ultra low power energy saving bulbs. Would get more illumination using a potato instead of those bulbs.
- Need new linen and pillows....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Location 1 1/2 blocks from Plaza 25th de Mayo is very convenient for low cost restaurants - driven largely by the university student population in the area.
Beautiful courtyards with incredibly uncomfortable chairs.
Rooms are off the courtyards on two floors, and are rather dark and dingy.
A bit depressing.
Breakfast for most travellers is the most basic I have ever encountered in Bolivia.
Coffee (one cup) - one must ask and negotiate for more - bread, a little butter, and a very little jam, sometimes fruit juice.
Anything else (eggs, fruit, milk etc) is extra - although it is out on display and included in the price for tour groups.
Heaters are extra, blankets are available.
Reasonable security, with a large metal gate locked most of the time.

Room Tip: Other than staying at a better hotel .....figure out whether you want sun in the morning or in the a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hostel is really quite plush, with grand gardens and bedrooms. The room was large, ornately furnished, clean, cable tv and the best shower I've had since travelling. Very powerful and hot. It's not cheap at $35 so we only stayed one night. Wifi isn't great but works if a little slow. The breakfast is not worth getting out of bed for. The bread was stale, cold coffee and a large glass of papaya juice. I don't know who drinks it as it really is disgusting and I see many people in many hostels leaving it but still it gets delivered to the table. I guess it cos its very cheap. The waitress could barely function, let alone smile and it took ages to get it. When we checked out we were asked if we'd used the mini bar, which we hadn't. Don't know why they bothered to ask as they won't let you leave until they've checked the room which is a bit daft. Could be a lot better and so lacking on customer service. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Kolping Sucre
0.3 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#12 of 32 in Sucre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.4 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
0.3 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#1 of 58 in Sucre
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sucre

Address: Bustillos Street # 113 | Between Colon and Olañeta, Sucre 91, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range: $34 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Sucre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Sucre, is located one block away from the main square, offers the following services: Rooms with private bathroom, carpeted, decorated in the most pure colonial style, distributed around two sunny patios, these rooms are equipped with permanent hot water, cable TV, Wi Fi Interne, National and international calls, coffee service, safety deposit boxes, garage, and all the services that the tourist or executive requires to have a pleasant stay in the capital of Bolivia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing