We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate here twice in one day!”
Review of Abis Cafe

Abis Cafe
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cozy coffee shop and restaurant at international standards with magnificent open air patio. Subsidiary from Abis Cafe. All we serve at Abis Cafe, we serve here as well, including lunches and dinners with excellent wines. We are mainly known for our irresistible hamburgers, variety of filet steaks, BBQ chickenwings, spareribs, meatballs in tomato sauce with Belgian fries or mashed potatoes. Everything is home-made. Quality, service and hygiene guaranteed!!!WIFI We are temporarily closed for relocation. However, we are attending at Abis Cafe on the main plaza, Plaza 25 de Mayo, #32.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice in one day!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Some of the restaurants we tried to go to in Sucre close on a Sunday, not Abis Patio! At lunch I had the hamburger with bacon and my girlfriend had the chicken salad. All the ingredients tasted very fresh and eating in the quiet relaxing garden area was a treat. The latte coffees were the best we experienced in Bolivia or Chile.

In the evening we went back with some friends and had the fillet steak with mushrooms which was cooked perfectly and the mash potato was excellent too. The staff even ran over the road to the supermarket to get more wine for us as we had drank them out of their last bottle of house red.

The owner was also very attentive and ensured we were looked after well by his staff. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T0by_0n_T0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
What a very pleasant to read message from you. We are here to serve you my dear customer. Thank you for being so kind to have taken some time to write something on Abis Patio. Have a safe trip.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    198
    52
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, main dishes a bit pricey”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Abis Patio's menu is similar to that of Abis Cafe on the Plaza, though with the addition of some main dishes.
I liked the food, but I found the prices for the main dishes (50-60 bs.) a bit pricey, as you can get exactly the same in bolivian restaurants for a third of the price.

That said, because it's usually a lot emptier during the day than Abis Cafe and sports most of its menu, it's perfect for having some cake & coffee using the speedy wifi. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pretzelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the comments and for the time you made to write something on Abis Patio. Our prices are not the most expensive neither the cheapest. We do use the best quality available and therefore the prices are more expensive than the middle class restaurants. For our steaks and burgers we use the pure filet meat, which is the best you can get. We also have a provider that guarantees the top quality. Indeed, you can find a burger at 10Bs on the streets and maybe in some places, however apples need to be compared with apples. You don't really want to know what is all in that burger. Sometimes the total price might become even much higher if doctors get involved. I hope this is not happening but I have helped already many tourists in such situation with medical aid. Besides the food, there is also the ambient and atmosphere which makes the time enjoyable. It all depends of what you are looking for.
We offer top quality, service and hygiene. Those are the pillars of our business model. People that are looking for this, are very pleased with Abis Patio.
Thank you for your comments and we all wish you a very nice trip.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to chill”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just the place I need in any given city! Nice coffee, ice cream and sandwiches.
My favourite was the warm brownie with vanilla ice cream, mmmm.
The staff ladies are very nice.
Their wifi is good, but since that fact has made the rounds, a lot of people using it at once will slow it down considerably.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pretzelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review and for the visit. It was a pleasure to serve you. We are very pleased to read that you had a great time at Abis Cafe. We do care about the speed of internet and that is why we change the password at regular times. We know that many people use our internet standing outside the cafeteria. Thanks again and have a great trip. We always will be there to serve you.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and good sandwiches”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in Sucre for 5 days and Abis cafe was a great place to sit and take a break from touring around. Their juices and sandwiches were really good and well priced. The location is awesome as it is right in the Plaza and their wi-fi connection was so helpful to have!! I would stick to the cafe and skip the restaurant because you have way better options to dine out nicely in the evenings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adiba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for having spent some time with us at Abis Cafe. We appreciate you made time for a nice review. We wish you a great trip. Take care.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the breakfast ”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

After having a decent lunch at Abis patio we thought we would try the breakfast at the cafe this time. Sad to say was very disappointing and wouldn't recommend eating breakfast here. In saying that might be the norm for Bolivia

Helpful?
Thank Ecs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Sorry to read that you havn't liked our breakfast. I get pretty frustrated when I get a one star report. Could you please let me know what you have ordered and what went wrong? What day did you come to Abis Cafe? Our goal is to offer the best possible for our customers. Please help us to improve where we can so we can serve the next to come better, That would be very much appreciated. Thank you.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abis Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Abis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing