We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing restaurant!”
Review of Abis Cafe

Abis Cafe
Ranked #2 of 120 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cozy coffee shop and restaurant at international standards with magnificent open air patio. Subsidiary from Abis Cafe. All we serve at Abis Cafe, we serve here as well, including lunches and dinners with excellent wines. We are mainly known for our irresistible hamburgers, variety of filet steaks, BBQ chickenwings, spareribs, meatballs in tomato sauce with Belgian fries or mashed potatoes. Everything is home-made. Quality, service and hygiene guaranteed!!!WIFI We are temporarily closed for relocation. However, we are attending at Abis Cafe on the main plaza, Plaza 25 de Mayo, #32.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing restaurant!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant after a few busy days in Bolivia. We sat down to write our journals and ate the nachos locas a chocolate brownie and a frapuccino! The sun was shining on the patio and there was music playing softly in the background. We felt so relaxed and enjoyed the food thoroughly! We have already recommended this to friends visiting Sucre!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy_D26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your sweet message. We enjoy reading that you appreciated the relaxed atmosphere of Abis Patio. Thanks again and have a safe trip.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    201
    52
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Sucre”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The Español burger is to die for here with good fries. Ate here a few times and the burgers and sandwiches are top rate definitely the best burger in Bolivia in my opinion. The owner (from Belgium) is very friendly. You can't pass through Sucre without a visit here.

Helpful?
Thank Dandrews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for making time to write on our site. We appreciate that you consider our burgers the best of Bolivia. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us yesterday.
I have to make a small comment: the burger you ate was at Abis Patio and not Abis Cafe. Abis Cafe is at the main square and is more cafeteria and heladeria.
Thanks again for being so kind to us with the constructive note.
Have a safe trip.
Th Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Small, but fine food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Went there in the meaning to have a fine dining and to escape all these backpackers tourists invading Sucre in shorts and flipflops drinking all the time beer.... first we were shocked because the place seems to be another tourist trap. But we were hungry and the place was silent. We ordered and were surprised. The food was marvellous, delicious vegetable soup, meatballs for one person and a delicious sirloin for me. The bolivian beef was almost as good as in Uruguay or Argentina. Phantastic. And the end we shared a 'crepes suzette', nearly as good as in France. We shared a bottle of tasty bolivian wine. At the end we payed less than 20 USD per person. The service excellent. Congratulations to the belgium owner, we met at the end. Not pretensious. Great staff and wonderful cuisine. Highly recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank cristiansuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for making the time to write such a nice comment for us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. That is the most important thing for us. We like to contribute to your stay in Sucre. I have a small question for you: Why did you think that it might have been a tourist trap? Thank you so much for sharing with us. Have a safe and nioce trip.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Absolute BEST frappuccino in all of Sucre!…..actually the best frappuccino I've had in all of South America! We were in Sucre for 2 weeks and went there multiple times, we couldn't stay away! Also good salads, sandwiches, fruit juices and ice cream. A fantastic location, right in the main square, and good wi-fi. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for loving our frapuccinos so much. Personally I do love them very much as well, which is not so good when you work that close to them. If you come again to Sucre, let me know and we make a special for you. Thanks again.
Have a safe trip.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bribane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste of Home!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We've been in Sucre for the past three weeks and have had a hard time venturing away from Abis. Though we do get out and try to sample some of the other local cuisine, the perfect blend of atmosphere, service and great food at Abis consistently bring us back. Try the pepper steak or cesar salad (our personal favourites) or really anything from their diverse menu. If you're looking for a taste of home in Sucre this is it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alida812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for recommending us with such nice words. It was great having you with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the time spent with us. Thanks again. Have a wonderful trip.
The Abis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abis Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Abis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing