We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm too stuffed, can't talk...”
Review of Abis Cafe

Abis Cafe
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cozy coffee shop and restaurant at international standards with magnificent open air patio. Subsidiary from Abis Cafe. All we serve at Abis Cafe, we serve here as well, including lunches and dinners with excellent wines. We are mainly known for our irresistible hamburgers, variety of filet steaks, BBQ chickenwings, spareribs, meatballs in tomato sauce with Belgian fries or mashed potatoes. Everything is home-made. Quality, service and hygiene guaranteed!!!WIFI We are temporarily closed for relocation. However, we are attending at Abis Cafe on the main plaza, Plaza 25 de Mayo, #32.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm going back to sucre in about a week and am allready dreaming about the juicy steak I'm going to eat at Abis Patio.

They have a wide selection of food, ranging from fingerfood and snacks to amazing steaks with mushroom or pepper sauce. Complimented by a great selection of Bolivian wine, and all of this for the price of a Big Mac at home...

The service is amazing, when the food came out, the waitresses came to ask if the meat was cooked exactly as I wanted it (which it was). On several occasions the owner came over to have a chat and tell us about the wine, and you notice how passionate he is about it all.

The location itself is very nice as well, a small patio with lots of sunlight, there's free wifi, and burners to keep the eventual cold away when the sun decides to lower itself.

Like I said at the start, I can't wait to enjoy another fantastic steak and a nice glass of red in the afternoon sun in this amazing restaurant.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MatthiasBryssinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you my friend for sending us such a nice comment. Have you been back since then? Please let me know. If you are in town, please come and say hello. We love to have a chat with you. I hope you are doing well.
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Abis Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 632 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yves and his wife are super hosts and produce wonderful food at great value in very pleasant surroundings. Lomos and burritos in particular were great. Ask for 'muy caliente' though if you like them hot!

Thank FoodForFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your rewarding message. We love to host our guest. Are you back home? If not we wish you a nice and safe trip.
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the food I've had in Bolivia has arrived warm at best and the meat in burgers as an example is terrible. Not here, the burger was home made and the chips were pipping hot! Other (more local) food I've had here is also great. Friendly staff too.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Burnsteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We are delighted to read that you quoted our food to be the best in Bolivia so far. Thank you so much. It is very rewarding to read these nice messages.
Have a safe and enjoyable trip.
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Eat here! See our review for Abis Cafe - it applies to Abis Patio as well. We ate at both restaurants, but liked the bigger menu at Abis Patio better.

Thank RTWDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your nice message on Abis Patio and Abis Café. I am very pleased that you enjoyed both locations. Indeed we have more to offer for lunch and dinner at Abis Patio because the kitchen is bigger than in Abis Café. Abis Café is great for its central location, coffee, pastry, sandwiches, salads, home made-ice cream and more.
Thanks again. Have a safe and nice trip.
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We met the owner on the street and he asked if he could help us cause we were lost, very kind of him. In the end He helped us organizing a taxi for the following day. We ended up having breakfast, dinner and dessert at his place (3 different occasions) and all was great. The oreo cheesecake is to die for. We left Sucre satisfied, and ever since we recommend his place to fellow travelers. Its worth a visit!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Missw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Propietario at Abis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you and to help you out. Thank you so much for your nice message on Abis Patio and for recommending us to others. It helps us a lot. Have a nice trip.
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abis Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Abis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing