We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel of my trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quechua Inn

Quechua Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quechua Inn
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hostel of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I traveled around Peru and Bolivia for six months and this was by far my favorite "home away from home" hostel (this is not a party hostel, mind you). The owner is extremely friendly and will take a good 15 minutes to go over a map of Sucre with you and let you know where to go, what to do, etc. More pluses: a welcoming and friendly communal space with comfy couches, a TV with tons of DVDs, and a computer (makes you feel like you're in your friends living room), deliciously hot showers, a full kitchen, sunny balconies, comfy beds, great wifi, very clean, close to the city center, etc. I honestly cannot think of a single negative because this place was just fabulous. It is quiet though, so if you are looking for a rowdy, rambunctious hostel, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmacfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at the Quechua Inn in March 2013 for 3.5 weeks in a 5 bed dorm. The beds were a big saggy but surprisingly comfortable. The facilities were very clean, bathrooms pretty modern with hot water, great sunny patios and a decently stocked kitchen. The set up in the communal area was good to meet others, particularly the big kitchen and the comfy couches in the living room around the big TV (excellent DVD watching!).

Ricardo, the owner, is wonderful! So friendly, helpful and kind. Security is good too--the gate is locked at night but occupants can come and go easily (does Ricardo ever sleep?), and despite no lockers in rooms, I only ever had a few rolls of toilet paper stolen. Generally a chill place when I was there too--a lot of people were studying Spanish there so not a party hostel. Great location in that it was quietly away from the hub, but only a few minutes walk to get to it. Oh, and I rarely had issues with wifi although I know some people who were trying to do a lot of downloading and streaming said it was really slow.

Negatives for me:
- At times the pressure in the shower was a bit sketch.
- I'd like to see shower curtains in the bathrooms, or at least a squeegee or mop, so the whole room isn't soaked after a shower.
- It'd still be nice to have a few lockers available for use.
- Kitchen should have a labelling system for people's items. It was a bit haphazard without a system.
- More bowls and storage containers in the kitchen please!

Gracias Ricardo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora, Peru
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 and it was a very nice and clean hostel and the owner is a true gent whom let us check in at 5am. The place is located about 7 minutes from the main plaza and comes with a kitchen and large tv with a selection of dvds. It also has wifi and hot showers and the communal area is also a decent size.

Breakfast is not included but there are nearby shops to purchase bread and eggs etc so that is fine. When going to Sucre check out Macs fast food place! Mega sambos there!

Room Tip: First floor would have better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.0 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.0 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.0 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 54 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
0.0 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#13 of 28 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechua Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechua Inn

Property: Quechua Inn
Address: De Mayo, Esquina Salgueiro 1ro, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Quechua Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing