We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something unesual to see in south america for 30bs”

Ranked #9 of 65 things to do in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site features a number of ancient dinosaur footprints.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something unesual to see in south america for 30bs”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Guide was very interesting and informative and included in the tour. When you start the tour you watch a walking with dinosaurs episode which gets you in the mood for some dinosaur facts. You can take a bus from outside the main square at the cathedral but for the same price as two people going you can take a taxi. If you want to save some money take the number 4 bus and ask for them to stop cal orck'o 1.5bs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    109
    63
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Interesting when you could go right up to the tracks”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited here a few years back, when there was still direct access to the tracks.I took the'Dino truck' from Sucre and they gave us hard hats to wear once we arrived. It was cool to see tracks going vertically up rock. Unfortunately, I was recently informed that you can no longer get as close to the tracks--and I think that would really take away from the experience.

Helpful?
Thank PhotoTripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A must-see for dinosaur enthusiasts”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

When you enter the Cretaceous Park, you can watch a fairly standard video about dinosaurs (sections in both Spanish and English), then a guide will take you on a short tour of the park where he explains how the footprints were found and shows a few (very few) finds from the area. Then he takes you to a terrace, from where you can see the cliff - about 300 metres away, so binoculars and/or zoom lenses recommended.

You can actually see the cliff just as well from the car park, but it is worth paying to go into the "park" to get the background to the find, and the model dinosaurs are good fun for small children.

A major part of the interest of this trip was on the bus from the main square, through some commercial areas of Sucre, where you can see locals at work, cooking on BBQs, and shopping. As you get closer to the park, the area becomes more industrial (the park is in the middle of a concrete works and quarry), the road becomes more potholed, and the houses and shops become poorer, so it adds some real insight into the living conditions of the locals.

Very good for enthusiasts, or even if you are interested in local living conditions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting footprints”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went with the dino bus (leaving at main square at 9.30 am) to Parque Cretacio. The ride in the bus is great itself, you see another part of Sucre while driving. The park is in the middle of an mining area. The mining is the reason they have found the dino footprints, which are impressive to see. They have built a park around the footprints, but even without visiting the park you can see the footprints. Visiting the park itself is not a must have, but it is nice especially for children. There is an interesting movie about the history of dino's in South America and there is a free english speaking guide telling some more about the footprints you see. We left the park at 11.15 am so we only spend there one hour. Nice thing to do in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your money”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am at a loss to understand why anyone thinks this is good attraction to visit. I waited for the Dinobus at the main square at the allotted time, but it never showed up. In the end I bartered with a taxi drive to take me there and back. Then the entrance fee is more than any other museum in Sucre. The first auditorium bit is essentially a rehash of the documentary Walking with Dinosaurs. You then walk through some plastic models of varying dinosuar species to end up at a gravel wall supposedly covered with dinosaur tracks. However, you are so far away from them that it´s virtually impossible to distinguish between the different species and the binoculars don´t help either. Seriously don´t bother you will see better dinosaur tracks or bones in any of the major national history museums.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanderings75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Tracks (Cal Orck'o) also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Dinosaur Tracks (Cal Orck'o)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing