We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious service, beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gracious service, beautiful property”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a beautiful colonial home that has been made into a delightful hotel, filled with beautiful antique furniture. The rooms are large, well appointed, squeaky clean. The bed is comfortable. All the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. WiFi works well in the room. The towels are large and fluffy, with satin binding. It is quiet at night. I could not ask for a more pleasant stay anywhere in the world. I can't wait to stay here again. It is a very popular place, so book well ahead.

Room Tip: Room #20 is at the top, with exquisite views from many windows, but it has twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoozella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear smoozella,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with the community.

Your lovely words really motivate the daily work of each one of us! We work for offering our guests a memorable stay and with your words, we can see that we are doing a very good job :)
We all hope we will again have the chance to welcome you again!!

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    115
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
226
60
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel provides luxurious accommodation right in the heart of Sucre, at an affordable cost. The building is stunning, with a roof top terrace and sun terrace where there is plenty of seating to enjoy relaxing in the sun. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast was substantial with lots of very tasty choices. Excellent service and a highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Travelbug409,
I thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.

I will forward your compliments to all our team, as the satisfaction of our guests is the best motivation in our future efforts to provide the highest quality of our hotel services.

We hope you will soon visit us again : )
Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just come back from my third stay at Hostal de Su Merced in Sucre. I love this hotel - it has huge charm and character and the staff are lovely. I particularly like the old furniture in the bedrooms: it's so nice to sleep in a brass bed. There are lots of spots where you can sunbathe or sit and read under a parasol, the wifi is fast, the breakfast is delicious, they'll look after your suitcase if you have an afternoon flight and you can wait for your taxi (having plugged in your laptop charger to check your emails) in a charming colonial sala.

I managed to leave my toothbrush and toothpaste in Santa Cruz and the señora provided me with a toothbrush and sent a boy out in the rain to get me some toothpaste. Service with a smile . . . !

Room Tip: 15, single, and 5 and 12, double, are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest Chiquitos,

Thank you for the trust you are showing to us every time when you come back to our hotel.
In our home, “No detail is so small and no request is too large”.

I have shared your message, and your words really motivated us, thank you for the feedback :-)
We all hope to see you again in your next visit to the white city of Bolivia.

Sincerly,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

3 days ago we stayed at the above hostal/hotel. Although the hotel has wonderful patios, rooms with lovely antiques (but with old, dirty, unsafe fitments and bathrooms), a charming and helpful staff, I would not give it a four star rating, sorry! We initially booked the suite on the top floor so that we could enjoy the views from the roof-garden. As I suffer a little from asthma and because of the relatively high altitude I had a job to reach this suite. (there was no lift in the Hostal) Geisa the receptionist, kindly offered us a suite on the ground floor, despite the fact that the hotel was full with Japanese and Brasilian groups. Yes the roof-top view was beautiful, yes the breakfast was a varied feast of fruit, sweet and savoury dishes, however we found dinner in the restaurant mediocre. Cannot agree with HelstonMike.. our bed was most uncomfortable, very hard with hard pillows! My husband and I did not get a good nights sleep the 2 nights we were there. I would certainly recommend that the hotel be thoroughly re-decorated and renovated! In addition we were in Sucre on the worst day of the year, Shrove Tuesday and Carneval was in full swing but disorganised! NOTHING apart from a Dutch pub, was open, no restaurants, no museums, no shops (apart from a lovely handicraft shop), no Monster Park, not even the churches, NOTHING! (This was not the case in Tarija, where the Carneval was better organised and quite beautiful, also at least some of the restaurants and shops were open there). If I ever return to Sucre, I doubt if I would stay at the Hostal de su Merced again, and would point out the discrepancies to friends...despite the lovely staff!

Room Tip: You have to be fit, healthy and sporty to get up to the best rooms! Our ground floor suite, though h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Polly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As we have already mentioned by mail, we truly value your opinions and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our charming Staff. We look forward to having superior customer service and we are glad to see that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Regarding the Carnival holidays, we are sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy our city, we hope you understand you made the booking in a period of time, which affects the whole country, and no business or attractions are open to visitors nor locals, even in Tarija (from Monday on). We understand that this might also have had a negative effect on your perspective about our city. For next year may be we could propose activities outside of the city.

Providing our service standards have always been our main concern. We have addressed the restaurant, room cleanliness and bed comfort issues, and spoken with the areas employees in question.

During the stay of our guests, we usually ask how they are filling in our home. Clearly, we were not performing usual standards because we would surely had given you a softer mattress and pillows. We are terribly sorry for not being able to perceive your discontent and disappointment with our services on time.

About the restaurant, we are surprised to get a negative review from you as your husband said our food was delicious. Anyway, we would keep on improving the quality of our dishes. We would contact you for having more details of your food suggestion.

Let us tell you that your review will not be overlooked and will be used to keep on pursuing the excellence in lodging services and for certain you have helped us a lot to improve. We will always cherished the good memory of you helping us and sharing with us the passion for our local music and despite the lack of a lift for being a colonial house, you were able to attend to some of our private concerts in the restaurant.

You are already part of our family and it is our hope to have the chance to enjoy your visit any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, had a great stay, lovely colonial hotel, well located in town. Breakfast was wonderful, the roof garden is gorgeous, especially at sunset….
The only unfortunate incident was being charged for 3 teas that we requested upon arrival at the hotel after a downpour. Every other hotel we visited in Peru and Bolivia had free tea available for the guests, this one did not so we though we would ask, never expecting to be charged!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Trekker08,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better!

I’m really happy that you had a great stay with us and that you appreciated our location and our home made breakfast.

In our usual standards, when some guest asks for a service, we should inform him/her our prices. Clearly, the day you mention we were not following them and for that I sincerely apologize.

Why not giving free tea for guests, we will evaluate this alternative. Thanks again and sorry for the incident.

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.......all the rooms seem to be furnished with beautiful antique furniture and really comfortable beds.........the breakfast is included in the price and is a wonderful feast of cooked foods, exotic fruits and cakes..........it will probably keep you going until dinner which is also another delight.. The views from the roof garden are a delight and although we didn't partake of a "sundowner" this would be a perfect and memorable spot to choose................

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear HelstonMike,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services.
I hope you could visit us again and enjoy the sundowner with us!

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We arrived EARLY in the morning from Uyuni on an overnight bus. The very friendly staff took care of us right away! The hotel was comfortable and had some great views (had a bottle of wine one night looking out over the views). The location is central, but also away from any noise. The breakfast was really good - set you up for the day with the deliciousness and the variety of foods. Again, we really enjoyed this place. If ever back in Sucre, will defo stay here :D

Room Tip: Dinosaur footprints are well worth a visit. Chocolate Para Ti is delicious :) Visit the food market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STuttleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing some words about us.

Our job is to give a warm welcome to our guests and to offer a memorable stay with us.
I’m really glad that you enjoyed our little house!

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#13 of 17 in Sucre
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 17 in Sucre
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#8 of 17 in Sucre
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing