We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accommodations & Gracious Stsff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Hotel de Su Merced
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 days/6 nights at this oasis of luxury in Sucre while on a one-month visit to Bolivia. We couldn't be happier with the accommodations and the sensitive service of the staff. The building itself is a marvel of colonial architecture, with 5 floors overlooking a central courtyard. Most floors have outdoor patios with tables and chairs providing wonderful vistas if the city and a respite from the streets. The breakfast is good with a wide variety of homemade pastries each morning as well as the normal eggs, ham, cheese, etc. Fresh fruit, including yummy papaya, and juices are also offered daily. The bathroom includes a modern shower and other fixtures. Windows of the room open onto the courtyard for fresh air and nice views. We stayed in many Bolivian cities during our trip and we rate Sucre number one for cleanliness and colonial style and El Hostel de su Merced our very best hotel experience!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Viarueda,
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review about us.

It’s very delighting to know that Su Merced has been your best hotel experience in many cities. I will share your opinion with all the members of the team. I will congratulate them for being so sensitive with our guest’s.

We hope you will soon visit us again!
Sincerely,
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 549 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Clean and friendly. Good value for money although expensive for Bolivia. Breakfasts were plentiful with a great selection, including cakes! We ate in the restaurant on our first night( freshly cooked and tasty pasta meal which was just what we wanted after such a long journey.

Staff were always helpful and spoke excellent English.

Hotel is well located a couple of blocks from the main square. There are restaurants and a launderette close by-useful if you're travelling for a while. The rooms are set around a courtyard and there's a roof terrace with great views of Sucre.

Certainly at the more expensive end of Sucre accommodation but we would happily return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Niki,
It’s a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our service.

We don’t offer only a warm bead and a tasty homemade breakfast; we offer a memorable experience for every single guest.

Hope to see you soon again!
With warmth,
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

What else could you want in Sucre. Style and comfort in a traditional white building with great balconies, flowers, see throughs, roof terraces and a nice breakfast.
Personnel is very friendly and many of them of speak English.

I stayed on my own and felt very welcome.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear JoséNL,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.
It’s a pleasure to offer our guest an attentive service in a singular colonial style : )
Me and the rest of the team hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in December 2013. It is a hotel with good food and nothing is too much trouble for the staff and owners. It gives us great pleasure to be able to recommend a hotel with no reservations whatsoever.

Many thanks,

François and Angela Dolmetsch

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear François and Angela,

It’s very pleasant for me and for the rest of the team to read your opionion. Thank you!!
We will be happy to host you again in our little home.
We hope you could come back soon: )

Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very good hotel in a central location. Beautiful old building with charming patios, common rooms and furniture. Good internet connection and facilities. We had a wide and lovely room with a fantastic city view. Friendly and helpful staff. I asked for some gluten free meal for breakfast and they prepared delicious maize biscuits especially for me! Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Centeleghe,
Thank you for your comments.

In our home, “No detail is so small and no request is too large”.
It’s very pleasant to read your review; I will share it with our team.
I hope to see you again for your next visit in Sucre.

Sincerely,
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a restored old colonial house, with lots of stairs, alcoves, odd angles, and period furniture, the staf fis very helpful and friendly (they speak good English, too). Breakfast is S American, with emphasi on sweet things - but there is real fruit juice, and other tasty morsels. The surroundings are calm, not noisy - apparently it is frequented by lots of gringo tourists; at the time of my stay, there was the season for motorcyclists...
Scur ein generla is a fine place, and I woudl recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Gaborleo,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed our service.
We aim to treat all our guests as we would our friends and we are happy that you appreciated it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
With warmth,
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in a central location. Very friedly. Good internet. Very good breakfast. Nice patio's and places to relax outside. Nice view from the roof. We had a big room at the streetside with a covered balcony, and it was quiet. The furniture is old and antique, but clean and charming. Normally we should stay there for 2 nights, but because of a 48 hours strike and blockade in Potosí, we had to leave the hotel after 1 night to be possible to get with a bus in Potosí. So, if you like to do the same route, take information in the hotel about the possibility of blockades of Potosí. It happens often!!

Room Tip: Ask for the big room at the streetside, with the little covered balcony. There is only one! Nice str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Owner at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Liesen Luc,
Thank you for your feedback. It will be forwarded to all our departments as a motivation in our future work, as it shows us that we are on the right way for offering an excellent service.
It´s a pity that you couldn´t stay more with us but I hope you could visit us again : )
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#15 of 18 in Sucre
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotel de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotel de Su Merced

Address: Azurduy 16 Street | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, City center., Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: $60 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hotel de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a 200 year-old century house that has been restored very carefully to be your home in Sucre. It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past, share the history of our city and expect a warm and familiar service. We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details. Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hotel de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing