We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Hostal de Su Merced

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a really charming place!

Although the place is old it has all the comforts one would expect from a modern hotel: good bed, nice bathroom, breakfast with quite a variety.

If I had to point out something negative, it would be that the cleaning service of the rooms is sloppy. They do clean well in general (and everything smells fresh), but they seem a bit head on the moon. One of the days they forgot the dirty towels by the entrance of the room... Another day they didn't clean until we reminded them... And they left the empty bottles of things we had from the mini-bat lying empty in the room for 2 nights, not replacing them with new drinks.

Apart from that, the place is really nice! I would go back if ever in Sucre again. Another plus is thatbthey have room service (although it finishes pretty early, at 9.30Pm) with very reasonable prices. Laundry is also quick and affordable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Its really nice to hear that Hostal de Su Merced is a charming place.
We have talked seriously with the ladys of cleaning service and they are aware of it.
I can asure the guests a good change on the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    113
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
225
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is well laid out with two terrace areas and a central courtyard and it feels like it is tucked away from the bustle of the city even though it is close to the main square. The breakfast was good and we were able to have it earlier than the usual time so we could leave early but the restaurant area is a bit grubby. We found it hard to get air in our room without opening the window onto the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Classic decorated big rooms. Service quick at the reception. Food at the restaurant good and even here quick service.
The surprise of the hotel is the roof. There are some terasses were you can look at the beaufull view over town.
We would recomment this hotel to every body.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I liked this place.
It’s simple, clean and without pretentions. The decoration perfectly matches the style of the building and has plenty of outdoor areas to rest. It also has a very central location, walking distance of everything you could need in your visit to this lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chus_Gijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

As we said in our review in 2007, we love this hotel. This is an old colonial building that has been beautifully restored and maintained. We had a suite this time, and loved it. The views from the roof are stunning, the courtyard is beautiful, and the furnishings are charming. The food is good, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Service to and from the airport is excellent. Definitely a lovely place to stay in Sucre.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for rour review!!
We are working every day for making Hotel de Su Merced a memorable and lovely staying for our clients!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms all overlook a central courtyard which is nice. The hotel is also only 2 blocks from the main square and the buffet breakfast is decent. However, we found the antique bed small and squeaky. The shower was also strangely tricky to get in and out of.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed a few days with my son on our father/son adventure. The verandas were a great place to spread out our maps and the courtyard and wonderful staff were a delight to come home to. HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idyllwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#12 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing