We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautifull classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very beautifull classic hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Classic decorated big rooms. Service quick at the reception. Food at the restaurant good and even here quick service.
The surprise of the hotel is the roof. There are some terasses were you can look at the beaufull view over town.
We would recomment this hotel to every body.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    121
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
235
61
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I liked this place.
It’s simple, clean and without pretentions. The decoration perfectly matches the style of the building and has plenty of outdoor areas to rest. It also has a very central location, walking distance of everything you could need in your visit to this lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chus_Gijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

As we said in our review in 2007, we love this hotel. This is an old colonial building that has been beautifully restored and maintained. We had a suite this time, and loved it. The views from the roof are stunning, the courtyard is beautiful, and the furnishings are charming. The food is good, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Service to and from the airport is excellent. Definitely a lovely place to stay in Sucre.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for rour review!!
We are working every day for making Hotel de Su Merced a memorable and lovely staying for our clients!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms all overlook a central courtyard which is nice. The hotel is also only 2 blocks from the main square and the buffet breakfast is decent. However, we found the antique bed small and squeaky. The shower was also strangely tricky to get in and out of.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed a few days with my son on our father/son adventure. The verandas were a great place to spread out our maps and the courtyard and wonderful staff were a delight to come home to. HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idyllwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Room was great! I was positively surprised, especially after the adventures we had in Paraguay. Overall – I really liked this place.

Hotel is decorated in the colonial style, in a room there are: comfortable bed, nightstands, huge old-fashioned closet, table and chair.

Bathroom is high-quality, with a hair dryer and amenities.

Breakfast is very good – with fruits, tarts, cakes, toast from the toaster. Breakfast staff welcomes you when you enter. Music could be better – classic music is a bit puffed-up, Spanish radio could work or any Spanish music.

Hotel staff can do the laundry for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Januszkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We loved our stay here. Big, spacious, clean, historical room. Great location, great staff, amazing value for money...food very average-go out to eat!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback Loricase!

It’s encouraging to know that you loved your staying at Su Merced Hotel.
Su Merced's team knows that we have to be “each day better than yesterday”, so thank you for letting us know the points we have to strengthen for having our clients 110% satisfied.

Carmen de Gantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#15 of 18 in Sucre
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#14 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing