We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Hotel de Su Merced
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms all overlook a central courtyard which is nice. The hotel is also only 2 blocks from the main square and the buffet breakfast is decent. However, we found the antique bed small and squeaky. The shower was also strangely tricky to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for El Hotel de Su Merced
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed a few days with my son on our father/son adventure. The verandas were a great place to spread out our maps and the courtyard and wonderful staff were a delight to come home to. HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idyllwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Room was great! I was positively surprised, especially after the adventures we had in Paraguay. Overall – I really liked this place.

Hotel is decorated in the colonial style, in a room there are: comfortable bed, nightstands, huge old-fashioned closet, table and chair.

Bathroom is high-quality, with a hair dryer and amenities.

Breakfast is very good – with fruits, tarts, cakes, toast from the toaster. Breakfast staff welcomes you when you enter. Music could be better – classic music is a bit puffed-up, Spanish radio could work or any Spanish music.

Hotel staff can do the laundry for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_Januszkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We loved our stay here. Big, spacious, clean, historical room. Great location, great staff, amazing value for money...food very average-go out to eat!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, Owner at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback Loricase!

It’s encouraging to know that you loved your staying at Su Merced Hotel.
Su Merced's team knows that we have to be “each day better than yesterday”, so thank you for letting us know the points we have to strengthen for having our clients 110% satisfied.

Carmen de Gantier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Staff always went out of their way to help - even rearranging bookings so we could stay in our same room for an extra 2 nights (booked for 4 nights, stayed for 6). Good location, excellent breakfast, beautiful setting, highly recommend to all! Great city to relax in, and also plenty of tours etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is a gem. We never expected such luxury and amazing service.

The room was very nice, amazing views over Sucre. Breakfast - simply divine, everything is home made, and you get a faint smell of oranges when you pass by the comedor in the evening, when the chef is baking cakes for breakfast. Lovely terraces with comfortable sofas to enjoy the sunshine. Location is perfect for sightseeing.

Dona Carmen is the best hotel manager: extremely helpful, excellent English, ready to recommend restaurants and give travelling tips.

We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We had room 21 (the suite), but also saw a double room which looked good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Sucre. 4 blocks from the main square, near many restaurants. Staff are very nice and helpful. The hotel is on three floors with plants and flowers on the terraces. The rooms are big and have antique furniture which conveys a nice atmosphererOverall a very pretty and nice hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter, but we stayed overlooking the street, and it was not noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tramontana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#15 of 18 in Sucre
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#7 of 18 in Sucre
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotel de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotel de Su Merced

Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: $63 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hotel de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a 200 year-old century house that has been restored very carefully to be your home in Sucre. It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past, the history of our city and expect a warm and familiar service. We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details. Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Hotel de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing