We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really peaceful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal CasArte Takubamba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Ranked #1 of 28 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Really peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed there in January, great staff, the bathroom was incredibly good and the hot water is really hot water, the only thing that they could improve is the kitchen of the room, the breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VERPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
88
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staff were great, the place was clean and comfortable, the wifi good though temperamental and it was a really chilled place to stay. Sucre is a lovely town to just relax in and this place is perfect to help you do just that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay in CasArte Takubamba. The facilities are great, and there's a funky, eclectic vibe from the artwork that lines the walls and peppers the common areas. I stayed in a three-person dorm which was clean and had comfy beds. We enjoyed a large common space with shared with one other room (a private double), and our own bathroom. The common area had a kitchen, but there were signs instructing us to use the kitchen out by the beautiful garden area and TV room, which is where breakfast is served.

Internet was fast and pretty reliable in the common spaces, and although it was available in our room, it was a bit spotty. Breakfast was good with an egg (your choice of fried or scrambled), fruit salad and juice added to the usual bread and jam. The staff was very friendly, and there was a bit of a quiet vibe around this hostel - perfect for couples, small groups, or solo travelers who want a bit of privacy, but it wasn't the perfect place to meet other travelers.

There were a few minor quirks. The bathrooms were quite small with the shower head sort of jutting out from the wall, which meant that most of the bathroom got wet when someone took a shower. Most of us took night showers so the room dried by the morning, but it was a bit awkward when someone washed up during the day - wet toilet paper included. The kitchen is outside, and although there's a roof over most of the cooking area, it got a little cold when we decided to cook a group dinner one night. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place, but I thought I'd mention those things which surprised me when I moved in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Joaquin and staff are wonderful! Really took care of us. Joaquin was so wonderful that he emailed us in advance of our arrival advising us of a transportation strike in the city and wanted to be sure we had a way to get in! Would have been stranded and miserable if he wasn't so thoughtful and helpful.

He does free walking tours in the afternoon (but don't forget to tip him well!). Had a wonderful overview of the city and covered most all the sights! (With him notating museums to go back and visit properly. So enjoyed this for the background, getting my bearings, places to visit culturally and socially as well as enjoying the time with him.

The hostal is about 12 rooms and on a quiet street just a few blocks from the main plaza and cathedral. 1 1/2 blocks away is the big supermarket, movie theater, home store and launderers and at the end of the street is a tienda and small Internet cafe.

Rooms are comfortable, clean with good simple furniture. Bathrooms are the shower/bathroom where you get everything kinda wet. Hot water may take a 2nd to get hot but then is really hot! They provide shampoo and soap as well, which I was surprised.

We had 2 different rooms, both quite nice and quiet. Surprised they were roomier than I have had with other hostals, Cleanings and change of towels are done every 3rd day but of course you can request additional times.

Breakfast is from 815a-10am, served in the garden courtyard though if weather is bad, there is an enclosed dining area as well. Breakfast is coffee, teas, juice, small fruit cup, bread and if you ask an egg. Though its the same everyday, its fine.

In the garden area, few sitting areas outsider as well as 2 enclosed rooms you can watch TV or play games. Have a wood burning over here that guests can use to cook their own meals as well. Community fridge to leave your labeled items.

Reception area has lots of tourist info, maps, weekly events. And by the reception is Art Gallery with sitting area. The artists' work dots all the rooms, hostal areas...making for a very characteristic vibe.

Seemed many guests were here for week+. So you got to meet a lot of other travelers.

In Sucre, of course do Joaquin's walking tour but also, enjoy a fresh juice and lunch at the Central Market and have a beer and watch the sunset from the Mirador at Recoleta. Mercado Campesino, which is an area of several streets is great for food, sundries, clothes, hardware items, bit of everything.

Lots of eating options: Abis (2 locations, one within 2 blocks from hostal) is wonderful!! Owner Yves, is welcoming, food is continental, tasty and well priced. La Taverne, a French restaurant is a good choice with a lunch menu (though pricey for the area at 45BS) and Nouvelle Cuisine is for meat lovers.

Lots of tourist options in town of movie nights, trivia, cultural shows. And endless tour operators for more active trips just outside of town. Go to Tarabuco, indigenous town for their Sunday market...it's about 2 hours away but a nice day trip.

Enjoyed our stay in Sucre and in such very very large part to Takubamba! Lovely comfy room with enjoyable common areas, helpful staff in a quiet but close to everything location.

come and stay here as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in the single ensuite room for 3 nights which was clean, well maintained and there were hot showers with good pressure! One suggestion would be to add a few hooks in the huge spacious room.

The common area/garden is a good place to chill and relax. Definitely not a party hostel but still a great place to meet people! The main square is around 10 min walk away and I felt safe walking alone at night and also early in the morning at 430am when I had to head out for trekking.

Good coffee/ice cream place-Abis Patio which is one block away. There is also a free walking tour provided by the owner! The laundry provided by the hostel was slightly expensive but there's a good and cheap laundromat one block away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobopoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed in a double room. The property opens into a great courtyard and the rooms surround it (the recipe for a quiet night). Our room was big with a great bathroom and hot shower. Wifi was on the whole time; not the fastest in bolivia but great stability.

The room is great but it's really the staff that puts it over the top. Juaquin's daily free tour of the city is a must-do. If you come in the low season it might just be you and him. He speaks great English, is very friendly and will give you a great tour of this city. It's probably the best free tour we've had. Of course it's nice if you tip him, same as free tours elsewhere. The other staff members speak mostly Spanish but are helpful as well. They won't be rude even if your Spanish is awful like mine ("yo tengo.... ropa..... mmmm.... dirty....).

Excellent breakfast, at a good indoor/outdoor area where it's easy to meet other travellers.

4 blocks from the square is accurate, but two of those blocks are nothing-blocks on a slight incline, which gives it a somewhat remote feel. However, on the way to the square is an awesome supermarket with ATMs (try the chocolate, or catch a movie!), which easily negatives this. Laundromat near there is excellent as well.

Thanks Juaquin, I hope your mom's birthday went well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geertruidenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We really liked this hostel in Sucre. The hostel is at a good location in the city center. The rooms in the hostel are spacious and of high standard. The bathroom and the bed were clean, however the floor could use come cleaning. And we were surprised they did not cleaned the room or changed the towels after the first night. So we had to ask for new towels (no shower curtain in the bathroom, so lots of water everywhere) and toilet paper by ourselves. However, the shower was amazing! Really continious hot water and enough power, the best in weeks!
The breakfast was nice, with the fresh bread and the dulce de leche. And you can enjoy your breakfast in the little garden: a really nice way to wake up.
The staff is friendly too: they phoned to the bus terminal multiple times to check whether the road blocks between Sucre and Potosi were still ongoing.

Room Tip: Room 6 was beautiful, however they should check the lock, we had sometimes problems opening it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.3 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 28 in Sucre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#4 of 28 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 54 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal CasArte Takubamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal CasArte Takubamba

Property: Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Address: Calle Serrano Nro 256 | Betwen Perez and Bustillos, Sucre 001, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal CasArte Takubamba 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal CasArte TakubambaWelcome to our family run hostel were you can rest and relax, or maybe participate in some of the workshops: theater, painting, ceramics or playing Latin guitar. The hostel is an old house with lots of atmosphere localized in the historical centre in Sucre. It used to be the home of our grandparents and is now totally restored and upgraded to modern standards. We have single, double and triple rooms all with private bathrooms. We serve breakfast and during the day you can make your own coffee or small snack at our guest kitchen in the courtyard. You can also visit the art gallery where local artists share their creativity and inspiration with us. If you enjoy cooking you are also welcome to use our traditional Andean stone oven. The smells and flavors are unique and its perfect to make everything from bread to pizza to meat and vegetables. Welcome and enjoy your stay!SERVICES - Breakfast, Hot-gas powered showers, WiFi, Towels, Guest kitchen,Check in 1:00 PM,Check out 11:00 AM - Special prices for weeks, months and longer stays. The hostel is only 450 meters away from the main square, localized within the historic city center, on a quiet street. The main supermarket, cinema, ATMs, travel agencies are located 200 meters from the hostel. We are 350 meters from Nicolas Ortiz, the street where you will find cafes, restaurants, bars, concerts, "Fiesta" at night in the city. At almost every corner nearby you can grab a taxi or jump on or of the minibuses that takes you around the town.-From the bus station 5 minutes by taxi and 15 minutes by bus -From the airport 10 minutes by taxi -From the main square a 5 minute walk -From the Central Market 7 minutes walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hostal CasArte Takubamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing