We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, if you don't mind the short walk to the centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Ranked #1 of 33 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening from Uyuni, and sadly our booking which we made on hostel world, had been messed up, and they had no double room for us. However the manager is friendly & reasonable and gave us a 3 bed ensuite for the same price and blocked the spare bed, so that solved that. From there on, it was great. Lovely scrambled eggs for breakfast, good laundry service, fairly close to town, hot showers, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and helpful staff. As an added bonus the courtyard is decorated with cool works of local art!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay CasArte! It was a real treat, our room had a loft apartment feel to it with high ceilings and really warm and comfortable bed, great shower and ensuite too and immaculately clean. The breakfasts are fantastic, freshly made fruit juice of a different kind each day, eggs, fruit, bread,tea, coffee etc served in a lovely courtyard garden including hammock and wifi. What more do you need! It's really great value for money and feels more like a hotel than a hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location, nice and quiet, great rooms, good breakfast, nice back yard and Marko you made our visit to Sucre so pleasant. All the guests had Christmas Day lunch together and even some of our friends in another hostel joined and it was no bother at all.

Thank you for a great stay... and your tip on Napoli Pizza down the road was the BEST pizza in South America !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mycityofsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I came down with a stomach bug two days after arriving in sucre and thankfully I was at Takubamba. The staff were amazing and te rooms were spotless. I ended up staying another week after I recovered because the city itself is so perfect for relaxing if you've been throwing yourself all over the place.
Great breakfast in communal area for swapping battle scars with other travellers and if you need anything the owners will do everything they can to help.
I wish I could give if 6 stars.

Room Tip: Asks for closer to the main office for better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was planning on staying only for a couple of days in Sucre, but the city itself was really chilled and nice, and even though I have seen a few other hostels in this area, I couldnt leave this one. first of all, the breakfast is really good. You get eggs, good coffee, fresh orange juise, jam and dulce de leche,
The wifi is fast, comparing to other wifis in bolivia, and the rooms are comfortable and large, you even get a shampoo.. there is a nice outdoor kitchen, and the staff is great.
Javier and Jorge will help you with everything you need, always with a smile on their faces, really nice and cilled people.
I ended up staying 9 (!) nights there,
I highly reccomend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We ended up stay here for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it! The rooms are very clean and large, you get eggs, fresh fruit and juice for breakfast and the location is great!

The staff bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible - even changing our mattress unannounced for a brand new one a couple of days into our stay! Wifi was a bit poor - but that seems to be the case in the whole town.

The outdoor kitchen area is a great place to meet other travelers or relax in the hammock.

2 thumbs up from us :)

Thank you Xavier, Benta and Jorge for our wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the reception have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

PROs:
+ very nice staff (Xavier and Jorge go completely out of their way to help you)
+ rooms (nice and large)
+ location (close to most attractions - not exactly in the city center though)

CONs:
- slow internet (5KB/s upload - that seems to be a problem of the whole town though)
- breakfast is currently outside (they were setting up a room for serving breakfast in the rainy season)

We stayed at the place for almost a week after finishing the tour on the salar (Tupiza to Uyuni), thus, our perception might be a little skewed...
Overwhelmed by the nice hosts we enjoyed spending our time here very much. The patio is great for relaxing, our room was nicely decorated and large, and finally the town is definitely worth a visit. The hostel is within walking distance of many nice places (cemetery, mirador, city center) but there are better options if you only want to look at the city center. When choosing a room (in winter) it might be best choosing one on the upper floor (currently they are being set up), which are heated up by the sun during the day.

Room Tip: When choosing a room in winter it might be best choosing one on the upper floor (currently they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leschib_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#5 of 33 in Sucre
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Condor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 59 in Sucre
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
0.6 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal CasArte Takubamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal CasArte Takubamba

Address: Calle Serrano Nro 256 | Betwen Perez and Bustillos, Sucre 001, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal CasArte Takubamba 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal CasArte TakubambaWelcome to our family run hostel were you can rest and relax, or maybe participate in some of the workshops: theater, painting, ceramics or playing Latin guitar. The hostel is an old house with lots of atmosphere localized in the historical centre in Sucre. It used to be the home of our grandparents and is now totally restored and upgraded to modern standards. We have single, double and triple rooms all with private bathrooms. We serve breakfast and during the day you can make your own coffee or small snack at our guest kitchen in the courtyard. You can also visit the art gallery where local artists share their creativity and inspiration with us. If you enjoy cooking you are also welcome to use our traditional Andean stone oven. The smells and flavors are unique and its perfect to make everything from bread to pizza to meat and vegetables. Welcome and enjoy your stay!SERVICES - Breakfast, Hot-gas powered showers, WiFi, Towels, Guest kitchen,Check in 1:00 PM,Check out 11:00 AM - Special prices for weeks, months and longer stays. The hostel is only 450 meters away from the main square, localized within the historic city center, on a quiet street. The main supermarket, cinema, ATMs, travel agencies are located 200 meters from the hostel. We are 350 meters from Nicolas Ortiz, the street where you will find cafes, restaurants, bars, concerts, "Fiesta" at night in the city. At almost every corner nearby you can grab a taxi or jump on or of the minibuses that takes you around the town.-From the bus station 5 minutes by taxi and 15 minutes by bus -From the airport 10 minutes by taxi -From the main square a 5 minute walk -From the Central Market 7 minutes walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal CasArte Takubamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing