We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forastero Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$85
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
# Pachamama Hostel(Sucre)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$90
bedfinder
View Deal
$111
$106
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
28
20
4
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
20
4
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 59 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We wanted to stay in Forastero Guesthouse on Calle Colon, but they had no doubles left.. so the landlady offered us a room in 'the house' (Casa Nueva) just around the corner. We entered a gate, a long driveway, another gate and then we saw a big, white house with a nice garden. We got to stay in the 'master bedroom', a huge room with a lot of windows, a little balcony, a bathroom and a very good mattress. Heaven! The price was ok + you had breakfast (we had it in the Forastero Guest House, on the terrace). It's a very nice place, because you have a kitchen, a garden, a large room & everything all to yourself! The landlady, Beatriz, is also super friendly and will do everything to make you feel at home & make your stay as best as possible. Definately recommend it!

Room Tip: If you like some peace & quiet, ask Beatriz to stay in the Casa Nueva, otherwise the guest house on Calle Colon is definately a place to recommend!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britt_flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had three very good days and nights in Sucre.
Overall the place is quiet, it is VERY nice to have breakfast on the terrace meeting new people, and the staff is quite helpful and knowledgeable when it comes to organize tours.

On the + sides :
This place has rooms on the second floor, opening to the street, and at ground level in the back. We got a room at the back, and frankly it is the most quiet place we have ever experienced in the whole of 3 months in South America! The beds/mattresses are ok, not brand new but good enough to keep the cold out.
Bathrooms are pretty clean and the water was hot enough for us.

On the - sides :
internet is kinda slow, and breakfast can feel a bit small if you are walking all day around the city. The kitchen is usable, but if you want to do real cooking you might feel you're missing a few ustensils. We were advised one bus company by the staff to go to Uyuni, but after going through a few agencies we found another one that matched our requirements better; just consider that they dont know everything.

Room Tip: rooms at the back, which are double or triple, are the quietest. Total silence at night. Dont ask for TV in this place, you should really be out exploring the city !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonhjonh3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We initially came to the hostel and were fairly content with our arrangement. A very large room, at a fair price, but two single beds (which we booked). Beitris (the owner) checked in with us to ensure everything was ok with our room. We expressed that we were aware we booked two single beds (only thing available on hostelbookers) but asked if she had a matrimonial. That is when she told us about her guest house. Obviously there is a price difference when you go from a shared bathroom in the hostel to a double with bathroom and T.V. with full cable, so Beitris was more then happy to walk with us the block and a half to show us the guesthouse.

It is a very impressive property. Wood floors, lounge room, dinning room, breakfast nook, large kitchen, and the master bedroom was very spacious. It didn´t take long for us to book it.

We ended up staying for an entire week and had the entire guest house to ourselves. Not that it would have mattered if others joined us, the house is massive and has plenty of chill spots to go around.

Beitris catered to our every need while we were there. She even offered several times to come over and make us breakfast in the morning. She arranged our bus tickets, laundry, and helped my wife get some of her cloths stitched up.

We had been on the road for three plus months and this place really gave us a refreshing sense of home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed 9 days in Sucre while taking spanish classes. I had a cosy single room. Room is clean. And with the extra blanket, was quite comfortable at night. Showers are hot. The owner is friendly and is willing to help you with information regarding travel that you need. Paula the housekeeper is a lot of fun, cheery and very helpful. The internet here is not very stable but there are cheap internet cafes close by that you can go to for quite cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2happyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed for 11 nights at Forastero and absolutely loved Sucre - we made great friends at this hostel which probably taints my review to a more positive one than it might have been. There are now 2 buildings for Forastero and we stayed at the original one. The new one is lovely and the double there was amazing but you do have to travel to the original for breakfast and wi-fi and others who stayed there seemed to feel it was a bit isolating. Beatriz the owner (also owns Tupiza Tours) is a friendly person who is bordering on neurotic (first night reminded 3 times in 30mins to switch the lights off) but knows a lot about Sucre (although some of her prices were off). When we first called we were told rooms had ensuites and tvs but I think this was a miscommunication about the new house. The rooms in the original house are basic (all shared bathroom) and we were originally in a twin courtyard room - the bed was very uncomfortable. Strangely when we moved to a double with cable tv the price was the same (only one with tv). These courtyard rooms are cold (probably the coldest on our trip), the shared bathrooms are ok - electric showers with very hot water but low pressure. The property has a good kitchen, there is computer and wi-fi but were very unstable, breakfast.Paula Alejandro who worked with Beatriz was great fun. A great atmosphere while we were there.

Room Tip: in original house only one has double bed and cable tv; inhouse rooms are warmer but noisier
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews