We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pasta in Bolivia”
Review of Monterosso

Monterosso
Ranked #14 of 119 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pasta in Bolivia”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

By fasr the best of the endlewss amounts of italien places in sucre, but this tops them by a long shot. not the easiest place to find, but once found, very homely and friendly!! remeember its closed on sunday and monday though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeD105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    11
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Sucre!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Sucre for a month and a half and made it a mission to try just about every restaurant. We can both honestly say this is our favorite. My family is Italian and really knows how to cook some great Italian food. THIS easily rivals that. Every time we went we left so satisfied. The owner's pesto dish is divine and the bruschetta is fantastic! We loved the quaint atmosphere though I recommend getting there as they open if you don't have a reservation. We saw several people get turned away because they came later when it was already full. If you make a reservation though then you should have no problem! The prices are also very reasonable for the quality you're getting. I joke about visiting Sucre again just for this food - it's that good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Some great food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here for a meal recently on the recommendations of some locals.

As already said it can be hard to find so look out for the yellow light above the door!

The food was excellent. I was a bit disappointed to find ham in the Lasagne but I guess the owner has to add a bit of South American to his food (in Europe it's typically just beef, in SA you will find egg, chicken, ham and a number of other things in many Lasagnes!).

Atmosphere was great with lots of locals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“really quaint place, great food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really liked this restaurant. You have to ring the doorbell to get in. The owner is busy but very friendly and the food is very good. We went twice and went early around 7pm each time as it fills up later. There seemed to be a lot of locals going too which i always think is a good sign.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bongodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We weren´t sure if we were in the right place as it looked closed. However one ring of the bell ensured us a table inside the cosy dining room. We opted for the complete menu and we were not disappointed. Bruschetta was tasty start, the mains (lasagne and puttanesca) were just delicious, definitely the best Italian food we´ve had in South America.

And the tiramisu... yum! You have to try it and finish it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marybeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterosso also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Monterosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing