We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'home away from home' - our favourite place”
Review of Casa AL Tronco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa AL Tronco
Ranked #3 of 33 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

What a spot. Ibo and his wife Tania are fabulous and really place the cherry on top of this excellent guest house. We planned to stay a night and were still there a week later. SO NICE to have a kitchen that functions to the same standard as home. It's peaceful, the view is amazing, the hosts are excellent and v informative, the rooms have character and are immaculate. Order a matte de coca on your arrival and the a size of the mug will blow your mind! We miss casa al tronco!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpre015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in casa al tronco two nights though we wish we would stay longer. It was one of the best places we've ever stayed in our three months South America trip. The owners (Austrian-Bolivian couple) are very friendly and ready to answer any questions about Sucre in particular and Bolivia in general. There is an amazing fully-equipped kitchen with an excellent view of the city. They also have a really nice room for the guests where you can see some movies and documents about Bolivia. It was an excellent stay. We highly recommend this place. Try to book in advance since they only have couple of rooms and tend to be full.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelinasfuroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed at Al Tronco for almost a week and loved every minute of it. We opted for the bigger room/studio, which was a bit of a splurge for us given that we are backpacking and minding our spending, but we never regretted it and we wished we could have stayed longer. The room is well laid out and beautifully decorated (same goes for the rest of the house), the bed is super comfortable, views are fantastic, kitchen upstairs well equipped, internet functioning, there is plenty of extra space downstairs, with interesting books, TV, lounge chairs, owners are kind and helpful ... A real treasure and most highly recommendable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank nevana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Wow!! Outstanding: location, views, service, accommodation and facilities.

We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and given detailed and informative information on Sucre itself as well as where to visit and places to eat.

If spending some time in Sucre we can highly recommend this beautiful abode. You almost wont want to leave!

We stayed in the ensuite room overlooking the whole of sucre - absolutely stunning!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank twokiwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I rang the doorbell & met the lovely owner I knew it would be an amazing stay.

He orientated me with the building & also the town & gave me lots of information.

It's such a great place to stay, I was disappointed that I only had 2 nights there.

It's a little walk from the town centre but that also means it's lovely & quiet. Possibly the best kept secret in Sucre.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank AussieShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Up on the hill overlooking the mirador of sucre, this stunning little guesthouse has very welcoming owners, an incredible shared kitchen with a balcony and stunning views of the city below as well as a georgeous little courtyard. Overall, it's a great retreat from the centre (where I was staying for 3 weeks) and really romantic.

We treated ourselves (it was actually cheap relative to other countries) and got the double room (unfortunately just two beds pushed together) at the top with panoramic views of the city, a dinning area and an en suite.

There are plenty of Micros going from town up the hill so distance from centre is not a problem and make sure you go to the mirador cafe which also has beautiful views.

Overall, best place ive stayed so far travelling, although ideal for couples as its not very Sociable. There are only 3 bedrooms(2 doubles and a single) so book ahead! I would, however recommend to the owners that the panoramic room gets a double mattress, not two separate ones.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimkimkim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Ebo at the door, which was a nice touch after arriving from a overnight bus from La Paz. Ebo was really helpful from the moment we entered. He took 15mins to explain about the area and gave us a map of sucre and suggestions of where to eat and what to see. When we arrived to our room, it was spotless and spacious. The kitchen area at the top has a balcony which has an amazing view of sucre. The place is bit of a walk from the main centre but It only takes 10 minutes and takes you past some of the highlights of Sucre. Overall the owners and the dog are really nice and friendly and I would recommend this as the prefect place to stay in sucre!
From Gareth and Palminder

Room Tip: Make sure you write the address of this place for some reason the taxi driver we had from the bus te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#5 of 33 in Sucre
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#14 of 33 in Sucre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 62 in Sucre
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.6 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa AL Tronco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa AL Tronco

Address: Topater 57, Sucre 21, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range: $28 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Casa Al TroncoIn our Riviera-style house, located in the ancient and tranquil center near the Recoleta square, just seven blocks from the main place passing through the nicest parts of the colonial city, with easy acces to charming and eucalyptus timbered calvarian Churuquella hill and its not rectangular narrow streets -- probably the most romantic zone of the “White City of America”---- We offer you a pleasant stay in comfortable, spacious and bright rooms served to a hotel standard, with private or shared baths,flowery patio, large sitting-room, an art collection and a fully equipped guest kitchen, with opens to a sunny bacony with spectacular views over the city. On arrival time we provide you with written infor- mation about the house, the district and Sucre. We, a Bolivian ¬– European family, can give you detailed and professional information about Sucre and Bolivia as well as tips for your continuing journey. Optional we can offer you an excellent breakfast. Check In : Anytime Check Out : 11:00 ( you are welcome to stay in the house until your oneward connection) Facilities:• Laundry service• Big selection of games and professional Dart board in the patio • Bolivian magazines and reviews, “ Le Monde Diplomatique”, “Der Spiegel” and books, among other things with bolivian reference• Dvd library in Tv lounge• Fully equipped guest kitchen with fridge and radio • Private Spanish and Quechua lessons in the house• Private Salsa dance course in the house• Motor-cycle parking in the house, private car parking near byWe look forward to welcoming you to: “ Your home away from home” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casa AL Tronco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing