We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Antigua
Nearby Hotels
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
# Pachamama Hostel(Sucre)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$90
bedfinder
View Deal
$111
$106
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
102
51
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
51
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain plazacentral heatingthe ownerlovely hotelexcellent locationtop floornice patiojuicefew blockstwo nightsgreat breakfastcomfortterraceboliviawifirelaxationfurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 168 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Villa Antigua was very good. We just had a small problem while arriving since they didn't find our reservation but it was quickly solved.
The rooms are big with minibar and tv (no coffee/tea maker), bathrooms are also big with hairdryer and tub. The buffet breakfast is good and includes eggs.
The hotel has a pleasure garden to relax and is close to main plaza and to some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levante06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Hotel Villa Antigua is located in a beautiful colonial building with a nice courtyard. The hotel has simple but very beautiful rooms and nice bathrooms. It is located in a very central location within short walking distance to all the sights. The staff are very nice and the owner obviously cares about the experiences of the hotel's guests, as he approached us at breakfast one morning to ask about our experience. Breakfast was good as well. This is generally a very good value hotel - you get a very nice place for a really reasonable price.

The hotel also arranged a private car to take us to Potosi at a very reasonable price, although the driver they hired for us actually stopped halfway through the drive to pick up a random man (who paid him for the ride) without asking us for permission. As we were two young females in a car in the middle of nowhere with a male driver and a random male stranger, this made us feel very uncomfortable. While nothing bad happened to us, this shouldn't have happened since we paid for a private car and didn't sign up to share half of our ride with a random hitchhiker. However, we don't blame the hotel for this and can only recommend that the hotel ensure that the drivers they hire don't pick up extra guests along the route without permission from its customers.

Aside from our experience with the driver, however, we had a great stay at the Hotel Villa Antigua and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molincom, Gerente at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Villa Antigua. And thanks very much for the information about the not authorized pick up of a extra passenger on the road. You are totally right that this shouldn't happen and we will take it up with future drivers that will be hired for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is a colonial building very well restored in all the public areas. Rooms are good but they don't offer a great comfort (considering the hotel is rating as 4 stars...), there is a feelling like the room is not already finished - well appointed. Blackout curtains missing! The major drawback was the shower, which dind't have good presure of water and the panel glass dind't do its function properly, the water ended all over the floor (room 309). Breakfast service is very good, and public areas are the best: great terrace on 2nd floor with excellent views of Sucre's colonial tiled roofs! The staff is really attentive and polite, specially Jael that was always so charming.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Friendly staff, good atmosphere and tastefully restaurated hotel in the center of sucre. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esthervl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

EXCELLENT PLACE. Booked a double room for 2 nights in august with an
extra bed (12 usd extra) for the first night because a friend was
staying with us for only the first night.

Our bus arrived from uyuni very early and we got to the hotel at 5am!
We thought that we would not be able to check in due to it being
before 12pm. The staff caused no issues and gave us a twin room
straight away. It was not the room we initially booked but we were so
tired and decided to ask for the extra bed in the morning.

In the morning we spoke to the owner (a very nice man) who explained
that there were no triple rooms left and that they would give us 2
double rooms for the first night at no extra cost! So we got one room
and my friend got a whole other one.

Hotel was very modern and very very clean, but at the same time felt
like it had a lot of character. The rooms were a lot bigger than
normal hotel rooms with very high ceilings. Wifi was very quick.

Brilliant breakfast. Very friendly staff. 5 minutes from the main
plaza. And excellent value. Wonderful hotel in a very charming city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkhilStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews