We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Antigua
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD HOTEL”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Villa Antigua was very good. We just had a small problem while arriving since they didn't find our reservation but it was quickly solved.
The rooms are big with minibar and tv (no coffee/tea maker), bathrooms are also big with hairdryer and tub. The buffet breakfast is good and includes eggs.
The hotel has a pleasure garden to relax and is close to main plaza and to some good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levante06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
64
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Hotel Villa Antigua is located in a beautiful colonial building with a nice courtyard. The hotel has simple but very beautiful rooms and nice bathrooms. It is located in a very central location within short walking distance to all the sights. The staff are very nice and the owner obviously cares about the experiences of the hotel's guests, as he approached us at breakfast one morning to ask about our experience. Breakfast was good as well. This is generally a very good value hotel - you get a very nice place for a really reasonable price.

The hotel also arranged a private car to take us to Potosi at a very reasonable price, although the driver they hired for us actually stopped halfway through the drive to pick up a random man (who paid him for the ride) without asking us for permission. As we were two young females in a car in the middle of nowhere with a male driver and a random male stranger, this made us feel very uncomfortable. While nothing bad happened to us, this shouldn't have happened since we paid for a private car and didn't sign up to share half of our ride with a random hitchhiker. However, we don't blame the hotel for this and can only recommend that the hotel ensure that the drivers they hire don't pick up extra guests along the route without permission from its customers.

Aside from our experience with the driver, however, we had a great stay at the Hotel Villa Antigua and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molincom, Gerente at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Villa Antigua. And thanks very much for the information about the not authorized pick up of a extra passenger on the road. You are totally right that this shouldn't happen and we will take it up with future drivers that will be hired for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is a colonial building very well restored in all the public areas. Rooms are good but they don't offer a great comfort (considering the hotel is rating as 4 stars...), there is a feelling like the room is not already finished - well appointed. Blackout curtains missing! The major drawback was the shower, which dind't have good presure of water and the panel glass dind't do its function properly, the water ended all over the floor (room 309). Breakfast service is very good, and public areas are the best: great terrace on 2nd floor with excellent views of Sucre's colonial tiled roofs! The staff is really attentive and polite, specially Jael that was always so charming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Friendly staff, good atmosphere and tastefully restaurated hotel in the center of sucre. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esthervl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

EXCELLENT PLACE. Booked a double room for 2 nights in august with an
extra bed (12 usd extra) for the first night because a friend was
staying with us for only the first night.

Our bus arrived from uyuni very early and we got to the hotel at 5am!
We thought that we would not be able to check in due to it being
before 12pm. The staff caused no issues and gave us a twin room
straight away. It was not the room we initially booked but we were so
tired and decided to ask for the extra bed in the morning.

In the morning we spoke to the owner (a very nice man) who explained
that there were no triple rooms left and that they would give us 2
double rooms for the first night at no extra cost! So we got one room
and my friend got a whole other one.

Hotel was very modern and very very clean, but at the same time felt
like it had a lot of character. The rooms were a lot bigger than
normal hotel rooms with very high ceilings. Wifi was very quick.

Brilliant breakfast. Very friendly staff. 5 minutes from the main
plaza. And excellent value. Wonderful hotel in a very charming city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkhilStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent location, a wonderful retreat, and a warm proprietor and staff

During July 2011, I enjoyed a fabulous stay at Villa Antigua Hotel for two weeks. What makes Villa Antigua so special? Three elements – a perfect location in downtown Sucre, a beautiful hotel with excellent amenities in a historic building, and a kind and generous community looking after you.

First, a bit about Sucre. The city, founded by the Spanish in the mid-1500s as “La Plata”, or “Silver”, was the colonial capitol of the region of Charcas. After the Spanish discovered and began their exploitation of the rich mineral wealth located in Potosi, aka “Cerro Rico” or “Rich Mountain, the Spanish selected Sucre as a more temperate location to reside. As a result of the extensive wealth derived from Potosi, the city of La Plata became the home of the Spanish Real Audiencia, Roman Catholic Church, monasteries, and universities in the region. Thus the city took on the feel of a late-medieval Spanish town with an impressive collection of religious institutions and civic buildings. In this manner, Sucre is a very unique home of Spanish culture that was transplanted and transformed as it integrated with native Quechua-speaking peoples. (I know these little details as I am an academic historian and professor of Spanish history.)

Residing less than three blocks from the main plaza and directly across the street from the Convent of St. Teresa, the Villa Antigua Hotel is appropriately a “white” stucco historic building – thus reflecting the characteristic feel of “La Ciudad Blanca” or “The White City”. This location is ideal to quickly find your way to the central plaza in less than 5 minutes by foot. There, you will find the historic “Casa de Libertad” as well as the cathedral (and its museum). On the plaza, there are many good locations for an eclectic mix of fare, including Pizzera Napolitana (a reliable break from traditional foods + WiFi), Abis Café (the best espresso, mochas, and ice cream treats), Bibliocafe (good traditional fare and drinks; on Calle Nicolás Ortiz, just one block off the plaza), and Pueblo Chico (good mixed fare + WiFi).

Recently opened by a Dutch expatriate, Dick Commander, and his Bolivian wife, the hotel is a perfectly restored Republican-era compound with a relaxing courtyard and a pleasant outdoor garden. The building is beautiful, extremely well cared for, and immaculate. Decorated with traditional Bolivian carved furniture, it very much reminds me of my childhood house in La Paz, Bolivia. Although Dick and his spouse are still putting on the finishing touches in the hotel’s soon-to-be-opened café/bar, every other aspect of this newly remodeled venue is perfect. The rooms are appointed with rich wooden floors, a wide selection of cable television channels, a mini-bar, comfortable living-room furniture, a closet and personal safe, and a spacious bathroom. Every linen is new and clean; my room was spotlessly cleaned everyday. As it was winter when I stayed at the hotel, the room was a little cold, but this is very typical for affluent residences and very good hotels in chilly-Bolivia. In fact, my hotel stayed reminded me affluent friends’ homes in La Paz, where no building has the extensive heating, which we are accustomed to in the United States and Europe. But, Dick and his staff are very attuned to the needs of their patrons and guests and readily seek to anticipate your needs. For example, the hotel, without prompting, replaced the small radiator in my room with a much larger one to increase the heating in my room. Likewise, extra blankets were waiting in my room.

This—the wonderful attention you will receive—sets Villa Antigua Hotel above the rest. They are just so warm and friendly and thoughtful. They were never pushy, but rather regularly checked on me and my sense of comfort. Likewise, when I indicated I wanted to make a last minute day trip to Potosi, they took care of every arrangement – including the private round-trip taxi service, two private tours in Potosi, and pre-payment for my trip. Similarly, as I was staying for an extended two week period, laundry services were quick and performed without the slightest problem, and the full-breakfast in the dining room was always fresh, with eggs cooked to order, and never dull or repetitive.

In short, this is the place for an authentic and carefree stay in Sucre. And, if you have the chance, do take Dick to have a drink at Bibliocafe. He’s great company, multilingual, and a most interesting fellow.

-Roger Martinez, ------------

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I had a really pleasant stay at the Villa Antigua hotel. The hotel was nicely remodeled 1.5 years ago and the attention to detail in the furnishings and architecture was apparent. It's only two and a half blocks from the main square, so it's location was great too. There's also lots of patio space to relax in the sun on a lazy day.

It's a bit more expensive than other hotels in Sucre, but worth the money if amenities like heat and hot water are important to you. The breakfast buffet was pretty good too.

The staff speak some English and can provide helpful information on the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milhouse_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#14 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#15 of 18 in Sucre
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Antigua

Property: Hotel Villa Antigua
Address: Calvo 237 | Frente Al Museo Del Convento de Santa Clara, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored mansion of 1860 in Sucre, the constitutional capital of Bolivia, with one of the best preserved colonial city centers of Latin America. The building is converted into a comfortable hotel maintaining the old structure and style but combined with modern facilities and design. This gives it a unique character, with striking decorations and hand-made wooden furniture in the tradition of a real boutique hotel. The hotel is part of the Historic Center of Sucre and offers spacious garden, courtyard - patio, rooms and terraces with splendid views over the old city and mountains. Free use of the gym and of WiFi all over the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing