We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Cecilia
Ranked #4 of 28 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

A pleasant B&B with a very helpful owner. When the taxi dispatchers were shut down and no taxi appeared to take us to Potosi, she drove us to the terminal, found a dispatcher working in the street, and made sure we found a taxi for Potosi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
60
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

When your host comes to your room with a Laptop and google translate to ask if the room is how we expected and do we need anything ? You know your in a place that cares.

The property is spotless, wifi is constant as is the hot water. Breakfast was typical.

Room was well furnished with Usualls. Bed was new and very comfortable. AA rating sleep!!!!

I would recommend this property for couples and solo. Very quiet not for the party Animal.

Location is prime for Sucre just a few blocks from the main square.

The manageress was extremely helpful. booked us taxiesand offered us advice on our location.
It would be impossible not to be satified with their product.

Room Tip: Send all communication in spanish to avoid mis interpetation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon at the Santa Cecilia after having reserved a matrimonial ensuite private bathroom the day before based upon the good reviews.

After waiting sometime for the room to be ready we were led to a completely different type of room. The room was a twin and our private bathroom was actually a small room down in the courtyard in no way part of our room. We queried the room and with no apology were told that the room we had reserved less that 24 hours earlier was not available. We had very deliberately been lied to to get us to the hostal in the hope that we would then stay regardless. The owner lady then offered us another twin with a shared bathroom, the bathroom actually being closer than our "private bathroom" at the same price??? Since when are shared bathroom the same price as private.

By this point we said we'd look elsewhere, they did store our bags whilst we did this. On the way out she said the matrimonial we had originally booked would be available on monday. After a couple hours in the midday sun we found the Hotel Kronos, huge clean rooms with fast wifi and great location, and reserved a couple nights till monday for just a bit more money.

We went back to Santa Cecilia to get our bags, and despite being lied to asked about reserving the matrimonial room from monday. She then told us the room was only available for one night and had been booked a month previously. Was she just taking the mickey out of us now thinking we're idiots!

By this point she was never getting any of our money and so we got our second taxi since arriving in Sucre and left.

So, if you get lucky you may get the room you reserved, and it may even be private like other hostels. Or you may have been deliberately lied to and then spend your first few hours in the sucre sun looking for somewhere to spend the night at your time and expense. Who knows.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stumbled upon Santa Cecilia while looking for a place to stay in Sucre. The bed and breakfast is 4 blocks away from the main plaza and the owner Oswaldo was extremely nice and helpful.

The rooms are also clean and nice. Although the B&B has hot water it is a little tricky to use. The first day we had a few issues with the hot water, but the next day it was fine.

Oswaldo was also extremely helpful with late checkouts and early checkin; he definitely tried to accommodate the request when he could.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niyatitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night here but wij we could stay longer. Lovey tidy rooms, great comfy beds and the standard breakfast fare. Wifi included, good hot water (although others didn't fare so well). Would recommend to those looking for a comfortable night stay with friendly and helpful host family, good for practicing your espanol!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at santa Cecilia for 8 days for a bit of respite from travelling. I had the double ensuite room to myself for 70Bs a night! The owners are wonderfully firendly and make you feel right at home. It was nice and quiet and the other guests were friendly and respectful. The breakfast is out all morning and you can help yourself at your own leisure. It is basic, bread rolls, butter and jam, coffee and juice. I bought eggs to scramble to go with mine.

The only positive criticism I have is the wifi signal. It only worked outside in the hallway because the router is based upstairs in the owners house and the signal is not very strong. I would recommend the installation of another router in the guests building.

Another room tip is that the boiler is for the ensuite room upstairs and the shared bathroom, if it is being used at the same time the water will be cold. Not a huge problem as it is not a big B and B.

All the same, I would highly recommend this place for your stay in Sucre.

Room Tip: Ask for the double ensuite upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacking_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

if you're looking for a great place, like a home this is it!!
After a horrible night at a hostel we arrived at santa cecialia and booked 3 nights, actually we stayed there for 6 nights.
The rooms are clean, big, the breakfast is good and the owners are great.
We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.7 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.6 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.9 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 28 in Sucre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 54 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cecilia

Property: Santa Cecilia
Address: Calle Potosi 386 (Puerta de Garage), Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Cecilia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing