We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lied To”
Review of Santa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Cecilia
Ranked #4 of 33 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon at the Santa Cecilia after having reserved a matrimonial ensuite private bathroom the day before based upon the good reviews.

After waiting sometime for the room to be ready we were led to a completely different type of room. The room was a twin and our private bathroom was actually a small room down in the courtyard in no way part of our room. We queried the room and with no apology were told that the room we had reserved less that 24 hours earlier was not available. We had very deliberately been lied to to get us to the hostal in the hope that we would then stay regardless. The owner lady then offered us another twin with a shared bathroom, the bathroom actually being closer than our "private bathroom" at the same price??? Since when are shared bathroom the same price as private.

By this point we said we'd look elsewhere, they did store our bags whilst we did this. On the way out she said the matrimonial we had originally booked would be available on monday. After a couple hours in the midday sun we found the Hotel Kronos, huge clean rooms with fast wifi and great location, and reserved a couple nights till monday for just a bit more money.

We went back to Santa Cecilia to get our bags, and despite being lied to asked about reserving the matrimonial room from monday. She then told us the room was only available for one night and had been booked a month previously. Was she just taking the mickey out of us now thinking we're idiots!

By this point she was never getting any of our money and so we got our second taxi since arriving in Sucre and left.

So, if you get lucky you may get the room you reserved, and it may even be private like other hostels. Or you may have been deliberately lied to and then spend your first few hours in the sucre sun looking for somewhere to spend the night at your time and expense. Who knows.....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stumbled upon Santa Cecilia while looking for a place to stay in Sucre. The bed and breakfast is 4 blocks away from the main plaza and the owner Oswaldo was extremely nice and helpful.

The rooms are also clean and nice. Although the B&B has hot water it is a little tricky to use. The first day we had a few issues with the hot water, but the next day it was fine.

Oswaldo was also extremely helpful with late checkouts and early checkin; he definitely tried to accommodate the request when he could.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niyatitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night here but wij we could stay longer. Lovey tidy rooms, great comfy beds and the standard breakfast fare. Wifi included, good hot water (although others didn't fare so well). Would recommend to those looking for a comfortable night stay with friendly and helpful host family, good for practicing your espanol!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at santa Cecilia for 8 days for a bit of respite from travelling. I had the double ensuite room to myself for 70Bs a night! The owners are wonderfully firendly and make you feel right at home. It was nice and quiet and the other guests were friendly and respectful. The breakfast is out all morning and you can help yourself at your own leisure. It is basic, bread rolls, butter and jam, coffee and juice. I bought eggs to scramble to go with mine.

The only positive criticism I have is the wifi signal. It only worked outside in the hallway because the router is based upstairs in the owners house and the signal is not very strong. I would recommend the installation of another router in the guests building.

Another room tip is that the boiler is for the ensuite room upstairs and the shared bathroom, if it is being used at the same time the water will be cold. Not a huge problem as it is not a big B and B.

All the same, I would highly recommend this place for your stay in Sucre.

Room Tip: Ask for the double ensuite upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpacking_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

if you're looking for a great place, like a home this is it!!
After a horrible night at a hostel we arrived at santa cecialia and booked 3 nights, actually we stayed there for 6 nights.
The rooms are clean, big, the breakfast is good and the owners are great.
We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I booked the double ensuite, which was almost like a suite! Great size of room (with TV!)and immaculate bathroom. The location is very central but is peaceful at night. The breakfast was adequate, and there's a nice guest-usable kitchen area. The staff were very friendly, helping us book flight's to our next location and provided good info on Sucre.
A very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Double ensuite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We got one of the warmest welcomes ever here; such a nice family running this place! Besides that: great location, nice rooms and overall a very nice hostel.
Could be a bit cleaner though, and the wifi didn't work. But the owners make up for any shortcomings with their hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
119 reviews
0 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
0 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cecilia

Address: Calle Potosi 386 (Puerta de Garage), Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range: $23 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Cecilia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Santa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing