We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for peace and quiet in Sucre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique La Posada
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location for peace and quiet in Sucre”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a really nice place to stay in Sucre. The location is excellent, only half a block from Plaza 25 May, the main square. It's also close to a couple of good, gringo-friendly cafe/bars, Florin and Joy Ride Cafe. The hotel is peaceful, with a lovely courtyard and relaxing ambience. The room was good but perhaps not four star - we had a to ask for a second towel and there was a bit of a gap under the door (luckily we were staying in summer so it didn't matter). Service is friendly but brush up on your Spanish as the front desk staff (except one lady) don't really speak any English! Wifi is free and very strong. Overall I would recommend La Posada.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
21
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We overstayed at the La Posada due to a stuff up with our bank in Australia and a courier company, a very long story and a very long wait. If you have to wait somewhere, Sucre is a nice town, very sedate and comfortable. And the Hotel La Posada is THE BEST place to stay. The staff are lovely, friendly, helpful - even making numerous pone calls for me to track down the couriers. The breakfast is good, but it´s the beds and showers that really make the place - beds are comfy and the showers are HOT with excellent pressure and fluffy towels! The rooms are clean and airy. There´s also lovely hang-out areas in the courtyard and a great restaurant onsite. Couldn´t fault the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located 1/2 block from main square with friendly and courteous staff (I don't know what quinn88 got up to??). Based on a colonial style house with 3 courtyards it is a peaceful haven apart from some scraping of furniture and clip clop of stilettos on the tiled floors.
Breakfast is good and the restaurant serves very good meals. We stayed here for 4 nights in October and were very happy.
This hotel deserves it's good reviews!! Some people are maybe a little too " picky"!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in August and had a excellent experience. Great location, just off the square; an oasis of calm after Potosi and Uyuni. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, good breakfast buffet-- sorry to hear of quin88's experience as we had very helpful staff. We also did not have a full complement of towels--but they brought extras unasked and promptly. When we had to stay an extra day b/c our flight to La Paz had been cancelled, the front desk staff helped us get into touch with the other airlines in town directly. Lonely Planet calls it "well worth the splurge" and while it is only a splurge in Bolivian terms, it was certainly well worth it.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms had thin doors between them and noise could easily be heard between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Yes this hotel is in a good location and the rooms are OK although the shower a bit tempremental, but that is it. It is the only hotel in Bolivia that we have stayed in with rude and unhelpful staff. True, my Spanish is basic but with sign language and smiles I have managed in Chile, Uruguay, Argentina and Bolivia. Here the reception staff made no effort to try and understand. When we arrived we were given a double room with 1 towel. I tried twice to get more towels but only when I found a nice smiley maid did I manage to get them. I tried to get my laundry back and was blanked. We tried to eat lunch in the restaurant, the outside terrace was full of smokers so we moved inside but they would only serve us if we moved to a small table by the door, close to the smoke, even though the restaurant was totally empty. When we left we were totally ignored when we handed the key in and managed to pay our bill with no eye contact, no smile and no thank you.
The people who have praised this restaurant must have been served by different staff. I would never return and never recommend.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and couldn't find a single fault. Location is perfect, bang in the middle of sucre just off the main square. Friendly reception and restaurant staff, beautiful rooms with the most comfortable beds we have found in south America, and spotlessly clean modern bathrooms with power showers and hot water 24/7. An absolute bargain for such a high spec hotel, with super fast wifi and we loved sucre so much that we stated an extra night. The breakfast offers a huge selection of hot, cold and continental options and the courtyard restaurant is also one of the finest in the city. Would recommend this hotel to anyone above anything else on the city. We miss it already. You have to stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerCu11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very central, ideal for walking in town.
Very good restaurant.
Staff very helpfull.
Internet works ver well.
ideal for busines meetings as they have a meeting room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maizemiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.2 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#14 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique La Posada

Property: Hotel Boutique La Posada
Address: Calle Audiencia 92, Sucre, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique La Posada 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boutique La Posada is an old remodeled house in detail to give comfort and tranquility in every room. Personalized service. It is located in the historic center of Sucre 10 minutes from the airport and bus terminal. We have a first class restaurant with lunch and dinner menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing