We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Bolivia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite in Bolivia”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hostel is near the centre, one of the cheapest in town, also you get eggs for breakfast which is rare. The book swap is fantastic, there are huge lockers and in the large dorm, all the beds are nicely seperated, giving you your own little personal space, overall really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
6
62
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

An ok hostel a short walk from the main square. Nothing wrong with with, but also not a great hostel - a place to spend a few nights. Comfortable beds.
Large lockers in the dorm rooms, but they use a hostel provided lock.
Standard simple breakfast.
Large bookswap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azziprob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland. New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just stayed here. Have stayed in 3 places in Sucre and this was the worst.
Pros:
homely
sociable
huge lockers
comfy beds

Cons:
Showers go cold roughly every minute
Internet is terrible
Beds shake in dorms when people walk around
Early breakfast and checkout

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep i don't recommend the biggest dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was one of my favourite hostels on my trip...such a nice vibe and a great location.
Beds are comfy and there are personal lockers to keep belongings in.

whilst the organisatio ofthe place is not great, it definitely makes up for it in character. So if you can be patient, it will be worth it...we arrived off the night bus at 3.30am in the morning and rang the bell. We were greeted, having not booked and were given a private room as this is all that was left. We were told we could move into the dorm as soon as beds came up. As there is no booming system as such, the managers didn't know each day who would leave so it took 3 days before going in the dorm. The no booking system is handy when you yourself don't know exactly when you will leave..i was only booked for 2 days but stayed for 9!

the kitchen is pretty small but this is my only small negative on such a great hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room- We booked a private with shared bathroom and were shown to a private ensuite. We explained what we had booked but they said it was ok. No bed frame, just a mattress on the floor. Room was spacious with wifi.
Food- Breakfast was average. Bread with jam and coffee.
Hostel- Old style courtyard which was nice. Hostel has a small kitchen and they offer laundry at a small price.
Staff- seemed friendly until we tried to check out...they tried to charge us for the ensuite room after saying upon arrival that that was all they had available. We argued our case and eventually they left it. However they refused to serve us breakfast and asked us to leave. This soured the whole stay for us.
Location- 15 min taxi from bus terminal. 5 min walk to main plaza and market. Area seemed very safe.
Sucre- Nice city. See the dinosaur footprints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Once again (after Pousada Ecoverde, Cuiaba, Brazil), I picked a private hostel room at a cheap price and another surprise awaited me. The price was 70 Bolivianos/night (£6.50/$10 approx). So at that price if you are SAFE, have a HOT SHOWER, a CLEAN bed/bedding, warm enough room, free WIFI and just about enough for breakfast, that's the 5* for me (given the price). It also had a little sun terrace, and a kilo of laundry could be done for 8 Bolivianos. I didn't have a kilo, so the maid reduced the price to 5, so because of that I gave her 10. They also had ample information around for tourist ideas. And all staff were frindly (but, please, speaking some Spanish IS a bonus).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a single room and a room with a double bed in advance over the Internet. Upon arriving we didn't get these rooms but were offered a apartment for 4 persons and a kitchen instead. The price went slightly up. Then they wanted to place another person in the apartment which we declined. After the two booked days we had to pay the price for the empty bed as well.
The rooms are very nice and the kitchen was a great bonus. After some days aunts showed up in our bathroom. The staff did an attempt to remove them after we had told them about it but didn't succeed.
Our rooms had windows to the street so during the rush hour in the morning it got quite load.
The breakfast is avarage. Really dry bread with marmalade usually accompanied with some fruit or müsil and a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KetieSaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.5 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Colors House
Hostel Colors House
#6 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.2 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#4 of 29 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes

Property: Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Address: Calle Urcullo, 233, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty, laid-back and wellcoming house with design. Each room comes with private or shared bathroom. Reception is open 24/24. Located 3 blocks from the main square. Provides hot showers 24/7, a book exchange, well-equipped kitchen, restaurant, laundry service and special rates for Spanish classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing