We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, after the reservation hassle...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Ranked #19 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, after the reservation hassle...”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hostal is good, but we started off quite frustrated. Our nightbus arrived at 4am so we were at wasmasi at 4:15. We made reservations online and told them that we would arrive early. Once we were there nobody opened the door. We phoned them and than somebody told us to get lost because we did not have reservations! Not the kinda street you wanna hangout in de middle of the night. The nearest hostal San Fransisco did let us in fortunately! Te next morning we went back and they did not have bookings in a computer(???) but somehow they could fix us a room. This was fine. Bed was a matras on the ground, hard but okay. Fine warm shower. Great breakfast and laundry service. Good wifi. Friendly lady the owner, she works hard! A lot of hipster backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
6
61
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived (without a booking) it took us 10-15minutes just to find someone from reception. When we finally did we were shown a double room with a lumpy mattress on the floor with a dank looking rug on it (luckily the sheets underneath were clean enough). We were assured there was a hot shower 24/7. For the price (about US$9each) we thought it was OK. So, then we put our laundry in.... When we went to collect it there were 4 bags of laundry & luckily I spotted some of my clothes in another bag. As it turned out there was no rhyme nor reason to which bag they put laundry in. In our bag were others clothes, and in every other bag were some of our clothes - how hard is it to separate laundry!? Pretty standard. We ended up having to tip out our 'clean' clothes on their dirty floor and go through a knickers line-up! And no apology. Then we went to have a shower to discover it was barely tepid. We went down and complained, and the woman proceeded to come up to our room and put her hand under the tap and assure us it was warm - the only way it could have been considered warm was if you were cold blooded!
We asked for a small discount - equivalent to about $1.50 and were refused. The woman (at 10.30pm) then stood at our door and rudely demanded we pay for our room there and then!! Which we refused given we weren't leaving until 11am the next day! How rude.
Other than that the breakfast was your basic bread and jam. The hotel was in an ok location 3 blocks from the main square. My advice - don't bother trying to find someone at reception!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOZbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sucre hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

If getting sick is something you feel is a right of passage while travelling this is the place to come, rooms are really damp and showers are cold.

The staff tend to spend most of their time staring at you and not much else.

There were a few problems during our stay so we and wanted to leave a night early and the rooms were giving us bad coughs as well, the owner was really rude and just shouted at us in Spanish. I wouldn't advise staying here as Sucre is so beautiful and this place could dampen it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I booked a single en-suite here based on recommendations from other travellers who said that it was a good base and a very friendly place to stay. The crowd is a mix of ages and nationalities and people seemed to extend stays and to return after travelling elsewhere in Bolivia.

The room was small and a little damp smelling but this could be because the shower was onto bare bricks. The room was cleaned every day I was there. There is a very small kitchen, the smallest I have seen yet in South America, but it is so cheap to eat here that you do not need to self-cater (the café also does a Bolivian lunch for 18Bs during the week). There is a TV room and a café/dining room for when it rains or is cold, but the main meeting area is in the courtyard. The furnishings are basic but the main reason to stay here is for the social side.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We first waited for five minutes on the street buzzing the door bell before a guest alerted the boss who eventually let us in. She then explained that the person in our room was staying longer so we wouldn't be able to stay. She didn't apologise once. She took us to a hostel around the corner where they didn't have wifi or breakfast (or curtains in the bed room!), and so we checked out the next morning for somewhere else. The boss of Wasi Masi then at first refused to give back our deposit of 10% x 3 nights, and we had to argue for ages before she reluctantly gave us our money back.

Room Tip: Be prepared not to have your booking honoured
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

It is a lovely courtyard hostel and it has a great book exchange. The room we stayed in was a bit strange. It had no storage facility (so when you unpacked, the room looked like a bomb site). The bathroom was a bit damp smelling and the bed was on the floor (but my girlfriend and I both had an uninterrupted solid night's sleep all three nights we stayed).

The shower was amazing - powerful and hot. They also clean your room every day.

The breakfast was poor. The best thing was the coffee, which was so-so. Bread, butter and jam is not what I call breakfast, but it is actually a very common breakfast for budget accommodation in South America, so we were not really that surprised.

Another issue we had was that the noise curfew of 10pm was not observed by the younger guests or enforced by the staff (in fact some foreign staff participated in the revelry outside our room until the early hours).

Basically, it is an OK place, better than a lot of hostels, but not outstanding. It is pretty cheap, so all in all you get a little bit more than you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

When we arrived we thought Wasi masi was lovely. Nice courtyard and great location. We had reserved the room via telephone as there were many reviews on Hostelbookers and hostelworld about their poor reservation records.

We were shown to our room which had a Japanese theme to it - futon bed on the floor and sliding glass door to the bathroom. It did smell quite damp. There was a home-made blind at the window which didn't fit so people could see around it. It also had a half round table badly attached to the wall - don't put anything too heavy on it, otherwise it will fall off. The shower area is made of bricks - looks nice - but they aren't sealed so I guess this is where the damp smell comes from.

They knew we were arriving at 3pm, but the girl left in charge didn't have a key for our room. It was open, but we couldn't go out and lock it. After lots of bizarre conversations - such as our friends locker key was actually our room key - we found a key to lock the door. A bit haphazard but we got there,

Next morning we tried to have a shower and it was cold. Our friend who was in the new 10 bed dorm also couldn't get a hot shower. A new member of staff who spoke English demonstrated that you had to just to turn it on and wait for it to get hot and then turn it up slightly. It did get hot, but you couldn't increase the pressure otherwise it would be cold again.

Breakfast was stale bread, with margarine and jam that looked like tomato sauce.

I got ill and so did friends. I spoke with a member of staff who said all the staff had been ill. Seems like there was a bug going round. My other half refused to eat breakfast there and he was the only one who wasn't ill.

One day we got up and our shower wasn't working, so we had to use the shared shower. Seems like there was a fault with all the showers so there were about 20 people using 2 bathrooms. The shower was good, but then I had to walk across the courtyard in cold wet towels to my room (I was also full of cold). The staff were in my room trying to fix the shower. I had to ask 3 times for them to leave the room so I could get dressed. All the electric showers had burnt out - power surge???

We decided to stay in Sucre a bit longer but we grew tired of being woken at 6.30am every morning by the staff shouting at each other across the courtyard. The owners kids also used the whole area as an adventure playground all day and late into the evening. No chance of chilling in the afternoon sun. The showers were still not great, we'd given up on breakfast and something was biting us - not bed bugs..but probably the tiny flies hanging around because the room was damp.

We went to find somewhere else to stay and checked out about 1 hour after check out time. The owner went totally crazy. Demanding that we pay for that night's accommodation. We'd been there for 6 nights already!!! Where is the customer service. When we refused she threatened to call the police and locked us in. Thankfully I still had my key, so when she went into the office we unlocked the gate and went. She ran after us and refused to take any money from us - we put it on the floor in the doorway. We flagged down a taxi outside and she jumped into it with us. We got out, she got out, we got back and locked the doors and went.

Totally terrifying experience. We stayed there longer than we should have, put up with rubbish showers and a terrible breakfast and then she went crazy.

Stay well clear.

We moved to Cruz Del Sur - huge quiet rooms, amazing hot powerful shower and only 80 Bolivianos extra per night for a couple.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.5 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Colors House
Hostel Colors House
#7 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.2 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#4 of 29 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes

Property: Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Address: Calle Urcullo, 233, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty, laid-back and wellcoming house with design. Each room comes with private or shared bathroom. Reception is open 24/24. Located 3 blocks from the main square. Provides hot showers 24/7, a book exchange, well-equipped kitchen, restaurant, laundry service and special rates for Spanish classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing