We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home. Love this place”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dolce Vita
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights and I cannot say enough great things about this hostel.
Jacqui our host was incredible, offering us tips on where to eat, visit, catch buses and even recommended we go to a travel agent for flights which saved us 400 bolivianos. Thanks
The hostel is spotlessly clean, the rooms were so cosy and comfortable, ideal for a couple or small groups.
I loved this hostel and if I ever return to Sucre it's here ill stay!
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pholpheist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for over 3 weeks and didn't want to leave. The people I've met there extended their stay as well or came back. The rooms are spacious, have a good bed, table with chairs a big open closet and I had a private bathroom. Everything is really clean. It has 2 nice outside patios. The owners speak several languages and are helpfull if you ask them something. There is a nice tv room to relaxt. Location is perfect: a couple of blocks to the main square and only one to the market. The price is good and if you stay longer you get a better price per night. There is free wifi and a good kitchen

Room Tip: The room on the second floor with the small balcony is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A really nice hostal to base yourself for awhile in Sucre. The family that runs this place is lovely and very helpful. Great places to hangout with kitchen space and a massive lounge with free dvds to watch. Perfect location and huge rooms. We stayed almost a whole week here in two different rooms and loved it. The only slight problem was probably that the shared shower was a little temperamental and I did have a couple of luke warm showers. But Wifi was good for bolivian standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKLC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a wonderful guesthouse with clean rooms and bathrooms and a "chill" place to hangout. More for backpackers but also a very decent place for basic accomadations. The owners are wonderful and go above and beyond to make sure you are settled and answer any questions. Great place to meet other travellers as well. Only a few blocks from main square and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantravelgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hostel offers great double rooms. Plenty of space inside and outside: big bed (mattress could have been better though), table and chairs to sit, plenty of space to stock your stuff if you're staying multiple nights (recommend!) and a balcony with chairs to sit in the sun. All the other amenities are there as well: very helpful advise from the Swiss hostess, kitchen, common room. No breakfast. Situated one block from the busy main streets, nice and secluded location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very good hostel. The staff gives you a good introduction to Sucre on arrival and they have plenty of useful restaurant and sightseeing recommandations / information. The location in perfect, just 5 minute walking from the main plaza. This is a cosy place, with only ten rooms. The room had a perfect matrass, was big an clean. Wifi connection was Bolivian. There are a nice patio and living room to meet other guests.

The hostel is quiet but next door they are constructing a new building. This gave some noise but nothing too bad. The kitchen is a bit small when more than two people try to use it and you are allowed to smoke in all the public places. It didn't bother us much.

We paid 252 bolivianos for two nights in a matrimonial room with private bathroom and it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for 4 days but stayed a week. Great location in Sucre. The owners are so informative and really wamt you to enjoy Sucre. Which is just the most amazing city! So beautiful, with lots to do snd see. We stayed in a twin room for 70 Bolivianos (£7) each per night. The room was spotless and enormous. Wifi was pretty decent for Bolivia. The beds were super comfy too. I could have easily stayed here for a month!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collum_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 62 in Sucre
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
0.3 mi away
7 Patas Hostel
7 Patas Hostel
#6 of 62 in Sucre
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.5 mi away
Spanish Friends
Spanish Friends
#11 of 62 in Sucre
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Calle Urcullo 342, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range: $13 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dolce Vita offers a relaxed family atmosphere for a memorable stay in lovely Sucre, Bolivia. At our guesthouse you will find a colourful, friendly setting with a sunny terrace and courtyard; a big lounge with cable TV, a DVD player and a well-stocked DVD selection as well as a nice guest kitchen. We provide affordable accommodation in Sucre’s lively city centre, 1 block from the Central Market. Our 10 spacious rooms with wood-flooring make you feel more like staying at a friend’s house than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing