We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dolce Vita
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The best place we have stayed in Bolivia, by far. Very pretty, plenty of terraces and lovely courtyard, clean & well stocked kitchen, spacious rooms and bathrooms with cute decor, and friendly and knowledgeable staff. Wifi, DVDs, and book exchange available as well.

On arrival, Vincent gave a us a map and circled all of the points of interest. Wish every place was like this!

Room Tip: Street side is very noisy. Try to get a room on the other side of the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Perfect hostel in Sucre!

The best kitchen of South America, great beds, nice rooms with charm, perfect location, relax and great atmosphere.

Nothing to add, just go there ;)

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcatose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice big room, clean and comfortable, quiet and owner was really helpful. We ended up staying an extra night. There was also a kitchen which was handy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in a private room with private bathroom in October. It is a lovely hostel, and the owner was super helpful when we arrived in drawing maps, recommending sites and activities, directing us to laundromats/restaurants/shows etc.

The hostel is about 5-10 mins walk from the main plaza. It is in a pretty safe area so is fine to walk around at night. (All of central Sucre seemed pretty safe).

Beds are comfortable and hot water is reliable. Wifi is typically slow (Bolivia!) but more reliable than where we stayed in La Paz.
There is no breakfast but quite a few places on the same block to get food. Plenty of restaurants around the plaza and on the way there to get food and good drinks. Joyride is a typical gringo hangout but the food is not great- same with Bibliocafe, both should be used for drinks only! There is a kitchen but we did not get a chance to use it.

Only problem we found here was that if you are in one of the front rooms, the street can be a bit noisy overnight, even though it's not a particularly big or busy street.

Overall we had a great stay, but give 4 stars rather than 5 because it is classed as a bed and breakfast though there is no breakfast! But excellent value, nice atmosphere and friendly staff (and cat!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

La Dolce Vita is such a lovely place to stay. I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for 100 Bolivianos. The shared bathroom was beautiful and immaculately clean. The whole hostel was decorated beautifully and was a great place to hang out. The kitchen was extremely clean and had everything needed, it was a pleasure to cook there, and the terrace was a great place to eat. There was a TV room which had some fantastic dvds of good quality. The room was simple but perfectly adequate and spotless. The bed was very comfy. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The only downside was that there was no breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I don't normally stay at the top rated Tripadvisor or Lonely Planet hostels because I often find they are either not that good OR they are really expensive and really busy. This was not the case at Dolce Vita, I was very pleasantly surprised...

***100Bs for a double room with a shared bathroom (no breakfast).5Bs extra for a towel.
***150Bs for a double room with a private bathroom (no breakfast) Towel included.

This hostel is perfect, seriously. I hate it when I read reviews which say somewhere is perfect....but I have to write it for this place. It has clearly been designed by a traveller for travellers, it's so well thought out.

The room:

Well decorated, very colourful, clean and spacious. The bed was comfy, the pillows were soft. There are bedside tables on each side of the bed, each table comes with a really pretty lamp. Normally you don't get these type of details in a hostel, especially one where a room is 50Bs per person! There are hooks on the walls and a huge wardrobe with lots of shelves. There is also a table with two chairs. There is a window which lets in a lot of outside light and it has proper shutters so you can make the room fully dark if you want to.

The shared bathrooms are great. There are two bathrooms upstairs. One bathroom has a toilet and a sink. The other bathroom has a toilet, sink and shower. The shower was a gas shower (not a bad Bolivian electrical shower). The shower was incredibly hot and powerful. There are rails in the bathroom to put clothes on and enough space to change.

The hostel rooms are built around an outside courtyard, giving the hostel a really airy open plan feel. There are plenty of chairs downstairs and upstairs to enjoy Sucre's hot and sunny weather. I sunbathed quite a lot whilst I stayed here!

Now the kitchen..........

The best travellers kitchen I've come across. I've been in South America for 8 months and this was the best kitchen. It's fully equipped, lots of pans, all shapes and sizes. Plates, bowls, wine glasses, mugs....everything. Plus everything looks very new. Each hostel room gets it's own basket to put their food inside. Also each room gets a jug to put juice or milk in. It's really well thought out, no-one should be taking your stuff by mistake. There are a couple of work surfaces in the kitchen so you can cook at the same time as other guests. There is a sharing shelf, with things other guests have left. This was really full when I was there, lots of spices, sugar, tea bags, rice and even a bottle of wine. Some very generous guests!

Sucre's central market is fantastic. It is huge and the produce was actually great. BUT the market ladies did try and rip me off quite a bit which actually make the supermarket much cheaper.

Their is a lounge with a few couches and more dining tables. There is a TV with cable and there is a guide telling you which channels they have and which ones are in English, which was really useful. There is also a DVD collection which you can use.

There is free wifi but it was quite slow.

There is a small book exchange.

It's well located. The street it's on is not noisy and it's only a short work to the market and the plaza.

I stayed here for a week and loved it, I wish I could have stayed even longer. Sucre was great too but I could have easily hung around in the hostel all day, reading my book in the sun.

(I stayed at the very end of August).

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be great but I would choose upstairs looking out over the courtyard, nice, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Fantastic place, I absolutely loved La Dolce Vita. Gorgeous rooms, excellent facilities, very clean, lots of toilets, secure, friendly atmosphere and a lovely cat.

Would return to Sucre just to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 59 in Sucre
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hostel Colors House
Hostel Colors House
#9 of 59 in Sucre
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 59 in Sucre
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Calle Urcullo 342, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range: $12 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dolce Vita offers a relaxed family atmosphere for a memorable stay in lovely Sucre, Bolivia. At our guesthouse you will find a colourful, friendly setting with a sunny terrace and courtyard; a big lounge with cable TV, a DVD player and a well-stocked DVD selection as well as a nice guest kitchen. We provide affordable accommodation in Sucre’s lively city centre, 1 block from the Central Market. Our 10 spacious rooms with wood-flooring make you feel more like staying at a friend’s house than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing