We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rotary International in Bolivia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marino Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Dent, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Rotary International in Bolivia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the San Marino Royal Hotel in Sucre. It is centrally located with access to many restaurants, markets, ATMs and shopping. We were able to take in the Final Four on ESPN also. The shower was great with plenty of hot water . . . unlike the hotel room we had in Cochabamba. Andrea (who works the front desk) was very helpful and delightful in pointing out areas of interest and she also helped us out with our Espanol! I would highly recommend the San Marino Royal Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
28
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

we liked the location, very close to a great central plaza, and the interior architecture, but the good parts stop here.
the room was very cold (in february), the water was cold (we left it running for 5-6 minutes and it finally warmed up), there was no place to put your soap or a towel, there was no hairdryer. the room was noisy, at 10-11 pm there were a lot of noises so we couldn't sleep until midnight or so. not enough power outlets, we had to unplug some TV placed very high on the wall to find an outlet, etc.
but the worst part was about to happen the next morning, after we left: the desk receptionist said everything is fine at the checkout (my friend reserved and paid with his credit card via Expedia and he had a payment confirmation) and arranged for us to go to the airport with the hotel's shuttle bus. we were in a big hurry, because the driver picked us up with a 15 min delay. at some point, the driver had a phone talk with the hotel receptionist (while driving) and then he told us we have to go back because the desk said they didn't get their money from Expedia, so the room isn't paid! we insisted that he has to take us to the airport or else we'll miss the plane! he finally accepted, but all the way he talked again with the desk person. at the airport, he followed us constantly, embarrassing us, and insisting that we should give him the money in cash! we showed him the payment confirmation from expedia (email on the iphone) and explain that expedia will pay them. but he didn't want to give up. he was always on our trails, and after we checked in and went to boarding he went to the airport security and reported us!!! we were questioned by some security guys in the boarding area in sucre airport, and then after we landed in Santa Cruz, we were intercepted by a security officer, telling us that they have a complaint that we didn't pay the hotel. there is no need to mention the high level of stress i had because of this hotel receptionist and driver. finally the security staff saw our payment confirmation email from expedia and let us go.
but they generated a situation that could have turned pretty bad for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankkkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Coming from Potosi, Sucre and the San Marino Royal were exactly what we needed! The hotel looks exactly as in the photos and the room we had was beautifully appointed with very posh bed coverings. The bathroom was lovely with an enclosed shower. Shampoo and soup and large towels were provided. Breakfast was a buffet with yogurt, cheese, ham, breads and cakes. A hot option (eggs or pancakes) were offered some days but not everyday. Fresh juice as well. Location is just off the main square and it is very convenient for booking tours and finding good resturants.

They have a nice patio and top floor sitting area.

Staff are very helpfull and extremely pleasant.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly, couldn't have asked for better. In particular, Andrea on reception speaks very good English and was great at helping me arrange onward travel to Chile. The room I had was well decorated, clean and had good facilities (fridge, cable tv, decent water pressure in the shower, hot water) and the price was excellent value. The only problem I had overall was the noise - I picked a room that didn't look out onto the street thinking it would be quieter (the rooms are arranged around a central, interior patio) but it was nonetheless noisy as anything happening down in the lobby / patio echoed around. It was quiet enough when it came time to sleep though so not a big issue. Location was perfect, just off the main square. Highly recommended, I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is right next to the main plaza with all the services, attractions and action very near.

The staff is always smiling and greeting you whenever you go by the lobby. There is two interior patio which cut any street sound you might hear in your room. Ok, there was a Virgen de la Guadalupe fiesta when we were there, so we could hear the rumour of the street and plaza till late at night, but this is exceptional.

The rooms themselves are large enough, clean and with showers that have closed doors (this is not a detail when you just visited places where there isn't even a shower curtain). Everything was satisfactory from wifi, tv, room service, etc.

Our only problem in this hotel was the breakfast. They say that it starts at 7:00. But, really, nothing was really up and running until 8:00. The first thing they seem to make sure is working is the loud television set high up over the buffet. You would always have to wait for the fruit or the fruit juice, milk or something else. The breakfast room looks like a plan B really. The person who manages the service can't go from the kitchen to the room without going by the lobby. We always managed to be fed in the morning, but it was very convoluted and a long wait. This might be a detail for some people who don't eat in the morning, but we are both early people and eat a lot to start off our day (especially on vacation).

If I was reviewing the mornings in this hotel, I would give a "poor" rating, but honestly, only the breakfast was a problem, so for all the other reasons, I give a Very Good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

An extremely charming hotel, with delicious morning buffet that was complementary . The hotel
was conveniently close to the plaza. The staff had a genuine sincerity about helping you. They all were friendly and went out of their way to please you. Mary , USA

Room Tip: ask for room not on the street if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maron777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel is well located near the main Plaza. It could be that we just had a bad room but I didn't leave wanting to come back! The rooms are round an open foyer, which in the case of our room meant that there were no windows looking out and this made the room airless and stuffy. There were windows looking into the centre of the hotel but they were small and created no breeze.
The shower kept flooding the bathroom as it was badly designed and the whole room seemed dark and gloomy. Breakfast was pretty poor compared to other hotels we stayed at.
The other problem was that noise seemed drift up from the foyer and into the room. This meant that if you are a light sleeper you could hear the TV in the foyer 2 stories up late at night.
On the plus side the staff were all very helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#7 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#12 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Royal Hotel

Property: San Marino Royal Hotel
Address: Arenales n. 13, Sucre 591, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Marino Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Marino Royal Hotel, is a magic place that combines wide and comfortable environments with the colonial style of Sucre. Located a few steps from the principal square, also it possesses Breakfast Buffet, TV cable / Internet WiFi, Fridge bar / Heating, Sauna/Jacuzzi, Room Service/Lavandería and Lounge of Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your San Marino Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing