We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverne

La Taverne
Ranked #4 of 115 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went for lunch and the food was average. I ordered the chicken and it was a little dry, and they were a little stingy on the portions.

Apparently the steak is really good so perhaps it was just my choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikcyru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    124
    39
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Had a great meal with friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Five of us had a fabulous meal on a Sunday night. Despite my many efforts of booking a table my emails were not answered and the phone number was wrong but when we arrived at around 7:40 on a Sunday night they could only offer us an outside table. The put the heater on for us and we had a great time. Even though they kind of forgot about us at time we didn't mind it, we were really enjoying each other's company!
Food was very delicious, we shared 4 starters: the potatoes, the mushrooms, meat skewers and the best... The goat cheese salad that came with rose petals and honey! Delicious!
Three had the fillet mignon and were very pleased with it (big portions too, two big medallions), another one had the curry and she really liked it and I had the trucha gratinada which was excellent!
For dessert we shared the tiramisu (really good) and then chocolate mousse (just alright)
We shared a bottle of wine plus an extra drink each and the bill came up to 830bolivianos! Less than $25 a person for a fabulous meal! Would go here again anytime!!!! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Really good beef and good value set menu. Note that the menu for lunch and dinner is different. Good, if a little slow, service and nice little open courtyard you can sit in. It gets a little sun in the day time and you can just chill there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavour explosion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Had the menu del dia at La Taverne and each of the four dishes had some great flavours. The fillet steak main course with fresh pasta was particularly good. At $45B it is not the cheapest set lunch in Sucre but the quality of food and the presentation justified the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T0by_0n_T0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent filling dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I randomly chose this place for dinner and was very pleasantly suprised. I opted for the beef massaman curry which was very tasty. The portion to me was pretty substantial & I left barely able to move! I guess it didnt help that I scoffed an entire basket of the complimentary bread to start; I couldnt help it, the bread was lovely & the 2 salsa dips it came with delicious! My bill came to 90BS, this was for the curry (58), a glass of wine (18), bottle of water & a coffee. Expensive maybe for Bolivia, but I couldnt get this kind of meal for 3 times the cost at home.

Helpful?
Thank TJC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to La Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing