We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful tourist place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Joy Ride Cafe

Joy Ride Cafe
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Sucre
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: RESTAURANT / CAFE is located in the center of Sucre; Sucre is in the center of Chuquisaca; Chuquisaca is located in the center of Bolivia… then we could say that… JOY RIDE CAFE is… the center of BOLIVIA!!!! “Probably the best bar in town”, as our slogan says… but YES the largest bar of Sucre… according to many of our customers we are the best in Bolivia, but we don’t want to say this on our own, so you have to check and see yourself!!!! Satisfied or your money back!!! Our mission is to make Sucre the place most comfortable place, climate-environment-people-services … so you don’t want to leave us!
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Awful tourist place”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Their slogan "not only for gringos" says it all. It's a tourist spot. We only had lemonade their which wasn't really good and overpriced like everything. If you want to get the beer you get everywhere else in the world go there. Their map is horrible. But they might be right about having the most comfortable cinema in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KetieSaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    142
    89
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food is overpriced and the waiters are pretty unfriendly. It its empty your not allowed too seat in the patio. The cinema is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pfisti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good marketing, expensive and poor service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive breakfast (for Bolivia), the menu was even not included "Jam" nor "Milk" and it was not mentioned in the Menu. So it was a bad surprise for this kind of upper class tourist restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexisFr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Touristy but good food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Allthough all the tourist go here it is a nice place. Well decorated, good food, much variety, they have movies and good wifi. A good place to meet people and Bolivian people

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxed and cosy”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Joyride is a great place to hang out and have a drink. They've got a big menu and the quality of food is great for the price. Try the Mediterranean Tapas for 50 Bs, between 2 it's filling and delicious. There's a few different seating areas, inside has a lovely cosy feel with soft lighting. It's popular with tourists and locals and very close to be main plaza. We often go there after Spanish class and do our homework over a couple of cuppachinos (which aren't too bad, a little on the weak side but still nice). We'll keep going back until we leave Sucre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Ride Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Joy Ride Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing