We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the duck and scallops for entree”
Review of El Huerto

El Huerto
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the duck and scallops for entree”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I'm a foody and this is one of the best.

Great little courtyard. Go on a sunny day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A bit out of the way but totally worth it! Delicious food in a lovely setting. We went for lunch on a sunny afternoon. The outdoor seating area is very peaceful. The salad bar was also great!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We got a taxi here late one night and it was definitely worth making the little extra effort. The menu is very extensive which is very unusual for Bolivia.
Firstly my boyfriend and I are not salad people, but we were extremely impressed with the salad bar. We liked it so much that we were worried that we would fill up too much on salad before our mains arrived.
Our steaks were absolutely divine. The portion was huge and we both struggled to finish it. The wine was very good that we had with our dinner.The staff were very friendly.
We wish we could go back to this restaurant or put it in our pocket every time we wanted an amazing meal in South America!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeci100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Its good! specially the salad bar! but there is much better......”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We visited el Huerto a couple of times and the food is really good!
The service is not that good.. because they only have 2 poor waiters serving the hole restaurant! is not feasible!

The salar bar is pretty good! and their trucha dishes as well! but after trying a couple of places
in Sucre we don´t think this is number one... for us is La Posada!!

try their tumbo juice is quite nice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on our last day in Sucre (after a month learning Spanish in the city) and we regret that we did not find this hidden gem earlier. It's about a 15/20 minute walk from the Plaza but you can easily get a cheap taxi and it is well worth the effort. Unlike most places in Sucre it has a great outside eating area, which makes it a great place to take in lunch.

The food is well priced in comparison to the fare served up at some of the tourist places such as Joyride etc but with much higher quality. We ordered the Cua Cua (duck) and the Ultimo Conquistador (chicken) and both were excellent. They also have a fantastic salad bar (included in the price) and nice juices. The service was prompt and the waiter attentive.

If you are in Sucre you should definitely make the effort to check this place out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Huerto also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to El Huerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing