We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little restaurant with great veggie options” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Germen

El Germen
Ranked #23 of 115 Restaurants in Sucre
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good little restaurant with great veggie options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had the soya burger to start and the grilled tofu as a main - great food especially the tofu. The service was fine and the atmosphere nice and cosy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evansowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
1 review
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Together with three friends I went there last weekend and all were amazed by the food. and I am not exaggerating !!! we had the vegetarian lasagne, the raviolis, a potato gratin and a chicken curry with veggies, and it was one of the best dinners I had in bolivia. do yourself the favour and DO NOT MISS THIS when visiting sucre !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s-akkurt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Veggie curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

There is some truth in a lot of these reviews but our experience was as follows:
Quite dark... Not all lights on but they switched one on where we were eating. Doesn't give a welcoming impression. The staff are nice if a little slow. There was one other table apart from us but still I had to get up and ask for more lemonade.

The tofu and spinach curry is exactly the same the the tofu and veg curry without the veg! We ordered one of each for variety but I ended up giving my boyfriend half of my carrots, cauli etc, otherwise they were the same dish.

We would go back to try the cakes and almuerzo but are dreading the wait during the daytime....
All in all, nice food and a cosy place but not the best service.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slow service and mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I ordered the Papas a la Huaciana, and they were okay, but not amazing, and they took forever.

My husband ordered the menu of the day, and it was a much better value, and seemed to come out more quickly at the tables where everyone ordered it, but it still wasn't all that impressive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went in this place, too much calm, i wold say boring. We ordered soups and potatoes crockets and spatzle. Everything was with bad cheese, and no taste. There is so much nicer place in Sucre...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etienne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Germen also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to El Germen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing