We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie curry”
Review of El Germen

El Germen
Ranked #20 of 121 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Taganga, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Veggie curry”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

There is some truth in a lot of these reviews but our experience was as follows:
Quite dark... Not all lights on but they switched one on where we were eating. Doesn't give a welcoming impression. The staff are nice if a little slow. There was one other table apart from us but still I had to get up and ask for more lemonade.

The tofu and spinach curry is exactly the same the the tofu and veg curry without the veg! We ordered one of each for variety but I ended up giving my boyfriend half of my carrots, cauli etc, otherwise they were the same dish.

We would go back to try the cakes and almuerzo but are dreading the wait during the daytime....
All in all, nice food and a cosy place but not the best service.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slow service and mediocre food”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I ordered the Papas a la Huaciana, and they were okay, but not amazing, and they took forever.

My husband ordered the menu of the day, and it was a much better value, and seemed to come out more quickly at the tables where everyone ordered it, but it still wasn't all that impressive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad...”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went in this place, too much calm, i wold say boring. We ordered soups and potatoes crockets and spatzle. Everything was with bad cheese, and no taste. There is so much nicer place in Sucre...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etienne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sucre
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

very cosy quiet place with amazing vegetarian food including veggie curries, quinoa dishes and loads more... it takes some time but is worth it!
absolutely recommended!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good variety of vegetarian food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Beeing vegetarian, there are normally not many options to eat in South American cities. I visited this place with a group of friends and we've ordered different dishes, The salad was yummy, so was the potato cake and the spinach soup - only the quinoa dish was not as tasty as we expected. The prices aren't cheap but not too expensive either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_partout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Germen also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to El Germen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing